Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Magnolia Motor Speedway

Wing captures Possum Town Grand Prix opener

November 28, 2010, 7:28 am
By Ben Shelton
Mid-South Racing
Rodney Wing celebrates Saturday in victory lane. (photobyconnie.com)
Rodney Wing celebrates Saturday in victory lane. (photobyconnie.com)

COLUMBUS, Miss. (Nov. 27) — Rodney Wing of Meridian, Miss., continued his late-season tear Saturday at Magnolia Motor Speedway, winning the opening race of a doubleheader on the first-year PRO Dirt Car Series. Wing, a former full-time racer who now promotes Whynot Motorsports Park, earned $2,000 at the Possum Town Grand Prix, which drew 48 Late Models to Saturday's event. | Slideshow

Wing, who has finished no worse than second for Thrash Motorsports over three weekends, will go for a weekend sweep at the 3/8-mile oval Sunday for the conclusion of the track and series seasons.

PRO points leader David Breazeale of Four Corners, Miss., finished second followed by Neil Baggett of Shannon, Miss. Wade Byars of Carrollton, Miss., and Matthew Turner of Dawsonville, Ga., rounded out the top five. Polesitter Jason Brock of Sulligent, Ala., led the first four laps of the 40-lapper but ended up 20th.

Brock took command at the outset with Breazeale and Wing in pursuit while front-row starter T.K. King of Columbus quickly faded. Wing took second from Breazeale and made a power move on the high side in turn four to take the lead from Brock after four laps.

Wing entered lapped traffic by the 10th lap, but a lap-15 yellow flag for Scott Flurry, who hit the turn-four wall, bunched the field.

With Wing out front for the restart, Baggett came alive on the restart, moving from fifth to second and began stalking the leader before a lap-19 caution for Dane Dacus, who hit the turn-four wall.

Wing led Baggett, Breazeale, Byars and Jake Knight on the restart and those five held their spots before Tony Morris got into the turn-four wall on lap 25 for the final yellow flag.

Wing stayed ahead of the Baggett-Breazeale battle for second the rest of the way for the victory, while Breazeale took the second spot for good on lap 37.

Notes: Wing's Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Discount Tobacco, Humidor Cigars, HP Graphics, El Cheapo Tobacco and Catfish's Towing Service and owned by Charles Thrash. ... The event's 48 competitors represented seven states. ... The event has previously been held across town at Columbus (Miss.) Speedway but was moved to Magnolia this fall. ... Dean Carpenter earned American Race Tires Hard Charger honors for his 23rd-14th run. ... Among drivers who failed to make the feature lineup: Jason Milam, Bo Gordon, Chris McElhenney, Jamie Elam, Ross Camponovo, Doug Showah, Marcus Minga, Ben Garner, Carnell Parker III, Jamie Tollison, Jason Wilson, James Cline and Josh Putnam. ... The NeSmith Chevrolet-sanctioned Crate Late Models are also in action at the Possum Town Grand Prix. Jeremy Shaw of Millport, Ala., swept the fifth annual NeSmith Chevrolet Weekly Racing Series Invitational, leading all 25 laps from the pole. Jamie Tollison was second followed by Johnny Virden. ... The weekend concludes Sunday afternoon with a $3,000-to-win PRO Dirt Car Series event and a $2,500-to-win event for NeSmith Chevrolet Crate Late Models.

Possum Town Grand Prix: (1) Rodney Wing, (2) David Breazeale, (3) Neil Baggett, (4) Wade Byars, (5) Matthew Turner, (6) Steve Bryan, (7) Jake Knight, (8) Kyle Beard, (9) Eric Cooley, (10) Tanner English, (11) Johnny Stokes, (12) Tony Shelton, (13) T.K. King, (14) Dean Carpenter, (15) Bradley Price, (16) Mark Dodson, (17) Rick Rickman, (18) Tony Morris, (19) Riley Hickman, (20) Jason Brock, (21) Dane Dacus, (22) Scott Flurry, (23) Klint Byars, (24) Brian Rickman. Fast qualifier (among 48 cars): Brock. Heat race winners: Baggett, English, Beard. Provisional starters: Carpenter, Dodson.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728