Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1187
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Ponderosa Speedway

Marlar rumbles to NASRA victory at Ponderosa

October 2, 2010, 10:31 am
By Michael Despain
Ponderosa Speedway
Mike Marlar heads for victory at Ponderosa. (Jimmy Pittman)
Mike Marlar heads for victory at Ponderosa. (Jimmy Pittman)

JUNCTION CITY, Ky. (Oct. 1) — Mike Marlar of Winfield, Tenn., led all 30 laps of the Friday Night Rumble at Ponderosa Speedway for a $2,000 victory on the National All Star Racing Association. Marlar fought off challenges on restarts from teammate Eric Wells of Hazard, Ky., en route to his series-leading fourth career NASRA victory.

Greg Johnson of Bedford, Ind., slipped by Wells late in the race to finish second while Victor Lee of Danville, Ky., and Justin Rattliff of Campbellsville, Ky., rounded out the top five finishers at the 3/8-mile oval.

Notes: Marlar's Rocket Chassis has a Custom Racing Engine and sponsorship from Wells Motorsports, Wayne Bowen Racing Supply, Valley View Enterprises and VP Racing Fuels. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Brandon Hardgrove, Tim Rivers, Rohn Moon, Bill Bray, Doodle Farris and Chase McWhorter. ... Dusty Maybrier led the final two laps of the Crate Late Model event after Todd Coffman was eliminated with mechanical problems. ... The weekend continues with Saturday's action topped by the $5,000-to-win NASRA feature, the 20th annual Fall Classic.

Friday Night Rumble: (1) Mike Marlar, (2) Greg Johnson, (3) Eric Wells, (4) Victor Lee, (5) Justin Rattliff, (6) Mike Jewell, (7) Aaron Hatton, (8) Skylar Marlar, (9) Jeff Watson, (10) Dustin Linville, (11) David Webb, (12) Aaron Ridley, (13) Bobby Wolter Jr., (14) Christian Rayburn, (15) Michael Chilton, (16) Arnie Fields, (17) Josh McGuire, (18) Brandon Fouts, (19) Dustin Neat, (20) Joey Daniel, (21) Tim Tungate, (22) Daniel Hatcher, (23) Daniel Shelton. Fast qualifier (among 33 cars): M. Marlar, 13.116 seconds. Heat race winners: M. Marlar, Wells, Johnson, Chilton. Consolation winners: Wolter, Lee. Provisional starters: Fields, Shelton, Hatcher.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728