Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Lake Cumberland Speedway

Tangle opens door for Johnson at Lake Cumberland

September 19, 2010, 2:32 pm
From series reports
Greg Johnson heads for victory in his Jack Rainey-owned No. 49. (Jimmy Pittman)
Greg Johnson heads for victory in his Jack Rainey-owned No. 49. (Jimmy Pittman)

BURNSIDE, Ky. (Sept. 18) — Running fourth on the seventh lap, Greg Johnson of Bedford, Ind., was out front a lap later and led the rest of the way for his third career victory in the Lake Cumberland Classic. Johnson earned $3,000 at Lake Cumberland Speedway for a victory co-sanctioned by the National All Star Racing Association and Volunteer Racing Series.

The race's critical moment came when Skylar Marlar of Winfield, Tenn., slid into leader Justin Rattliff of Campbellsville, Ky., in turn four on the seventh lap. The failed slide job sent Rattliff's car briefly atop the wall, and when he came back down, Rattliff found Marlar's car under caution and bumped his several times to show his displeasure.

Rattliff was black-flagged, Marlar was sent to the tail and Michael Chilton of Salvisa, Ky., inherited the lead on the restart. Johnson restarted second and quickly swept around Chilton to take command for the final 33 laps at the 3/8-mile oval.

NASRA points leader Aaron Ridley of Chatsworth, Ga., finished second while Marlar rallied back to finish third. Volunteer Racing Series points leader Mike Weeks of Friendsville, Tenn., was fourth and Chilton rounded out the top five.

Three cautions slowed the action, including yellows on laps 27 (for a slowing Kenny Cobble) and 37 (for Tim Patrick's turn-four spin).

Notes: Greg Johnson's Jack Rainey-owned No. 49 MasterSbilt Race Car is sponsored by Bedford Transport, Cummings Race Shop and Lineal Contracting. ... Third-place finisher Skylar Marlar won the previous night's Harold Hardgrove Memorial. ... David Webb earned PPM Racing Products Hard Charger honors with his 13th-to-seventh run. ... Michael Chilton fell from third to fifth in the final three laps. ... NASRA competitors wrap up the season with an Oct. 1-2 weekend at Ponderosa Speedway in Junction City, Ky., capped by a $5,000-to-win event. ... Volunteer Racing Series drivers head to Boyd's Speedway in Ringgold, Ga., on Oct. 15.

Lake Cumberland Classic: (1) Greg Johnson, (2) Aaron Ridley, (3) Skylar Marlar, (4) Mike Weeks, (5) Michael Chilton, (6) Tommy Bailey, (7) David Webb, (8) Rohn Moon, (9) Johnny Wheeler, (10) Wayne Chinn, (11) Bobby Wolter Jr., (12) Jeff Johnson, (13) Greg Hansford, (14) Arnie Fields, (15) Tim Patrick, (16) Darrick York, (17) Victor Lee, (18) Kenny Cobble, (19) Daniel Hatcher. Disqualified: Justin Rattliff. Fast qualifier (among 24 cars): Johnson, 13.779 seconds. Heat race winners: Lee, Marlar, Rattliff. Consolation winner: Webb. Provisional starters: Hatcher, Fields, Cobble, York.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728