Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Whynot Motorsports Park

Whynot's MSCCS event gives Broadus first victory

August 22, 2010, 9:16 am
From track and series reports
Jeremy Broadus emerges in victory lane. (theinfieldidiot.com)
Jeremy Broadus emerges in victory lane. (theinfieldidiot.com)

MERIDIAN, Miss. (Aug. 21) — Jeremy Broadus of Biloxi, Miss., captured his first feature victory Saturday at Whynot Motorsports Park, rallying from his ninth starting spot to win the 50-lapper on the Mississippi State Championship Challenge Series. Broadus, who overtook Neil Baggett of Shannon, Miss., on the 25th lap, earned $2,500 for the victory. | Slideshow

"When I passed Neil, I knew it wouldn't be easy," Broadus said. "I stayed on the bottom and raced as hard as I could and hoped he didn't pass me on the top side."

Baggett was second followed by hometown driver Chad Thrash. Steve Bryan of Collinsville, Miss., was fourth and cut into the points lead of David Breazeale of Four Corners, Miss., who started on the pole but settled for ninth after tangling with a lapped car.

Overall fast qualifier and outside front-row starter Jim McDuffie of Meridian finished 16th after having a flat right-rear tire.

Notes: Broadus drives a MasterSbilt Race Car sponsored by Industrial Welding Supply, Safety Systems, D&M Fabric, Robert Halls Auto Salvage and Gentry Motorsports. ... Next up for MSCCS competitors is a $2,000-to-win event Aug. 28 at Jackson (Miss.) Motor Speedway.

Topless 50: (1) Jeremy Broadus, (2) Neil Baggett, (3) Chad Thrash, (4) Steve Bryan, (5) Keith Miller, (6) Harvey Tollison, (7) Brian Rickman, (8) Shannon Lee, (9) David Breazeale, (10) Tody Ratcliff, (11) Chris Hoomes, (12) Wiley Williams, (13) Dane Dacus, (14) Phillip Gibson, (15) Craig Turan, (16) Jim McDuffie, (17) Joseph Joiner, (18) Leon Henderson, (19) Jimmy Cliburn, (20) Henry Cooper, (21) Wayne Murphy, (22) Bill Hasselle. Fast qualifier (among 23 cars): McDuffie, 13.301 seconds. Dash winner: Breazeale. Consolation winners: Broadus, Ratcliff. Provisional starters: Williams, Hasselle.

MSCC series points

(Through Aug. 21)
1. David Breazeale - 1,160
2. Steve Bryan - 1,110
3. Keith Miller - 990
(tie) Chad Thrash - 990
5. Jeremy Broadus - 840
6. Shannon Lee - 785
7. Joseph Joiner - 760
8. Leon Henderson - 735
9. Shep Lucas - 565
10. Neil Baggett - 445
Sponsor 863
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728