Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Whynot Motorsports Park

McCool sticks with low groove for Whynot victory

July 4, 2010, 5:00 pm
By Ben Shelton
Mid-South Racing
Bub McCool (57j) works to regain the lead. (theinfieldidiot.com)
Bub McCool (57j) works to regain the lead. (theinfieldidiot.com)

MERIDIAN, Miss. (July 3) — Bub McCool of Vicksburg, Miss., overcame a furious mid-race challenge Saturday from fellow Magnolia State drivers Jim McDuffie and David Breazeale to win round three of the Four Crown Nationals at Whynot Motorsports Park. McCool’s $2,000 victory was his first on the first-year PRO Dirt Car Series.

Breazeale, of Four Corners, Miss., finished second followed by Ronny Lee Hollingsworth of Northport, Ala. Hometown drivers Chad Thrash and McDuffie, who led laps 17-22, rounded out the top five.

The polesitter McCool took the lead at the outset and was into lapped traffic after just eight laps as fellow front-row starter Jason Cliburn gave chase. A lap-15 caution for Bradley Price bunched the field, and a flurry of three-wide action erupted among the leaders. McDuffie took second from fading Cliburn and used the cushion to sweep around McCool on the 17th lap. McCool fell to third behind Breazeale a lap later.

McCool, however, stuck with his low groove and worked past Breazeale and then McDuffie to regain the lead on lap 23 and lead the rest of the way.

Notes: McCool’s Victory Circle Chassis is sponsored by McCool Logging. ... The victory was McCool’s first of the season. ... Drivers failing to make the feature: Jason Milam, Chad Washington, Stormy Derryberry, Jeremy Glasgow, Klint Byars, Wiley Williams, Tody Ratcliff, Jeff Young, Clay Fisher, Brent Barrett, Brian Deroche, Leon Henderson, Daniel Moore and Patrick Michelle. ... The PRO-sanctioned Four Crown Nationals wrap up Sunday at Magnolia Motor Speedway in Columbus, Miss.

PRO @ Whynot: (1) Bub McCool, (2) David Breazeale, (3) Ronny Lee Hollingsworth, (4) Chad Thrash, (5) Jim McDuffie, (6) Anthony Burroughs, (7) Brian Rickman, (8) Jason Cliburn, (9) Chris Brown, (10) Ray Moore, (11) Kyle Beard, (12) Rick Rickman, (13) Rodney Wing, (14) Dwight Falcon, (15) Dean Carpenter, (16) Jay Burchfield, (17) Ray Mauldin, (18) Chris Hoomes, (19) Steve Bryan, (20) Mark Dodson, (21) Bradley Price, (22) Ross Camponovo, (23) Wade Byars, (24) Greg Fore. Fast qualifier (among 38 cars): McCool. Consolation race winners: Price, R. Rickman. Provisional starters: Mauldin, Dodson.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728