Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Volusia Speedway Park

Lloyd outruns Whitener, wins VSP's Thompson Memorial

June 27, 2010, 3:59 pm
From track reports
Lawton Minchew (23) gets air in this Volusia tangle. (ricksdarkroom.com
Lawton Minchew (23) gets air in this Volusia tangle. (ricksdarkroom.com

BARBERVILLE, Fla. (June 26) — Eighth-starting Ivedent Lloyd Jr. of Ocala, Fla., overtook polesitter Mark Whitener of Middleburg, Fla., on the 15th lap at Volusia Speedway Park on Saturday and raced to victory in the 50-lap Scott Thompson Memorial. Lloyd earned $3,800 for his third victory of the season on the Sunoco United Dirt Late Model Challenge Series. | Video

With the help of early cautions, Lloyd reached the second spot by the eighth lap, then overtook Whitener at the flagstand seven laps later, just before a turn-three pileup.

Lloyd stretched his lead late in the race while Whitener settled for second ahead of 10th-starting Tyler Ivey of Tallahassee, Fla. John Kellum and Adam Bedenbaugh rounded out the top five.

Notes: Lloyd earned an extra $100 from Astor Recycling. ... The race honored the 2005 Volusia Late Model champion who died in a highway accident. ... Two-time UDLMCS champion Johnny Collins of Jacksonville, Fla., broke a transmission in hot laps and scratched for the night. ... Next up for UDLMCS competitors is a July 3 event at Swainsboro (Ga.) Raceway.

Scott Thompson Memorial: (1) Ivedent Lloyd Jr., (2) Mark Whitener, (3) Tyler Ivey, (4) John Kellum, (5) Adam Bedenbaugh, (6) Darrell Padgett, (7) Dillon Wood, (8) Shane Williams, (9) Jason Davis, (10) Patrick Williams, (11) Phillip Cobb, (12) Joe Kump, (13) David Clegg, (14) Dennis Williams, (15) Donnie Chappell, (16) Doug Watson, (17) Matt Hartley, (18) Jeff Henry, (19) Keith Nosbisch, (20) Ken Monahan, (21) Barry Sheffield, (22) Brandon Cameron, (23) Chuck Chitty, (24) Lawton Minchew, (25) Jack Nosbisch Jr., (26) Christian Augspurger. Fast qualifier (among 32 cars): Whitener, 18.38 seconds.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728