Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Central Mississippi Speedway

Breazeale captures inaugural Jerry Inmon Classic

June 5, 2010, 3:54 am
By Ben Shelton
PRO Dirt Car Series
David Breazeale earned $2,000. (Best Photography)
David Breazeale earned $2,000. (Best Photography)

WINONA, Miss. (June 4) — Polesitter David Breazeale of Four Corners, Miss., led all 40 laps Friday at Central Mississippi for a victory in the inaugural Jerry Inmon Classic. Breazeale pocketed $2,000 for the co-sanctioned Promoters Racing Organization Dirt Car Series and NeSmith Super Dirt Car Series event honoring the Hall of Fame Mississippi driver. | Slideshow

Dean Carpenter of Coldwater, Miss., finished second followed by seventh-starting Anthony Burroughs of Muscle Shoals, Ala. Rick Rickman of Columbus, Miss., winner of last week’s PRO event at Whynot Motorsports Park, and Wade Byars of Carrollton, Miss., rounded out the top five at the 3/10-mile oval.

Klint Byars of Carrollton started outside the front-row and ran second early in the race, but he jumped the turn-two cushion on the 14th lap. He avoided heavy contact with the wall, slipped back to fifth and retired during a lap-20 caution with an overheating car.

Three mid-race cautions slowed the action, first for a slowing Brian Rickman on lap 20. Chase Washington slowed to draw a lap-22 yellow and a lap-23 caution appeared when Jay Burchfield and Ray Mauldin made contact on the frontstretch.

Notes: Breazeale is sponsored by L&D Trucking and Henderson Motorsports. ... Breazeale won his second PRO event of the season. ... Breazeale was the only qualifier under 13 seconds. ... Shane Stephens of Arlington, Tenn., earned American Race Tires hard charger honors with his 20th-to-10th run. ... The PRO Dirt Car Series returns to action over the Fourth of July weekend with the Four Crown Nationals at Greenville (Miss.) Speedway, Central Mississippi, Whynot and Magnolia Motor Speedway in Columbus, Miss.

Jerry Inmon Classic: (1) David Breazeale, (2) Dean Carpenter, (3) Anthony Burroughs, (4) Rick Rickman, (5) Wade Byars, (6) Tombo Callahan, (7) Jeremy Glasgow, (8) Bradley Price, (9) Clay Fisher, (10) Shane Stephens, (11) Mark Dodson, (12) Jay Burchfield, (13) Phillip Gibson, (14) Terry Kerbough, (15) Ray Mauldin, (16) Chase Washington, (17) Klint Byars, (18) Brian Rickman, (19) Leon Henderson, (20) Jason Milam, (21) Cody Gentry, (22) Harvey Tollison. Fast qualifier (among 22 cars): Breazeale. Consolation race winners: Glasgow, Tollison.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728