Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

North Georgia Speedway

Johnson tops Weaver at North Georgia

May 31, 2010, 10:49 am
From series reports
Ronnie Johnson (5) goes by Mike Weeks (22). (mikessportsimages.com)
Ronnie Johnson (5) goes by Mike Weeks (22). (mikessportsimages.com)

CHATSWORTH, Ga. (May 29) — Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, Tenn., took the lead from Randy Weaver of Crossville, Tenn., on the 19th lap at North Georgia Speedway and led the rest of the 40-lapper for his second Volunteer Racing Series victory of the season. Johnson earned $3,000 in the third-ever event on the first-year tour. | Slideshow

Weaver settled for second at the third-mile oval while Billy Ogle Jr. of Knoxville, Tenn., winning of the previous night's series event at Boyd's Speedway in Ringgold, Ga., was third. Tony Knowles of Tyrone, Ga., and Mike Weeks of Friendsville, Tenn., rounded out the top five.

Four cautions slowed the event, the most serious for a Jamie Perry-Brian Hickman tangle in turn four just past the midpoint.

Notes: Johnson's MasterSbilt Race Car is sponsored by Miller Bros. Coal, Simmons Lawn Care, Koontz Plumbing & Construction and Vinson Racing Engines. ... Johnson's first series victory came April 16 at Boyd's Speedway. ... Three of the features cautions for were slowing cars: Mark Vineyard on the eighth lap, Gary McPherson on the 21st lap and Freddy Smith on the 28th lap. ... Drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Gar Dickson, Jerry Bradley, Brian Reese, Bo Shirley, Jeff Fortner, Skip Arp and Jake Knowles. ... The Volunteer Racing Series returns to action June 25-26 in Kentucky with events at Ponderosa Speedway in Junction City and Lake Cumberland Speedway in Burnside. Both races pay $3,000 to the winner.

VRS @ North Georgia: (1) Ronnie Johnson, (2) Randy Weaver, (3) Billy Ogle Jr., (4) Tony Knowles, (5) Mike Weeks, (6) Derek Ellis, (7) Lee Sutton, (8) Jason Welshan, (9) Aaron Ridley, (10) David Payne, (11) Chad Ogle, (12) Steve Smith, (13) Brett Wyatt, (14) Ross White, (15) Ray Jarnigan, (16) Freddy Smith, (17) Tommy Kerr, (18) Brian Hickman, (19) Jamie Perry, (20) Gary McPherson, (21) Mark Vineyard, (22) Jeff Maupin. Fast qualifier (among 29 cars): Weaver, 12.702 seconds. Heat race winners: Weaver, Johnson, Weeks. Consolation winner: Vineyard. Provisional starters: White, Jarnigan.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728