Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Boyd's Speedway

Arp wins at Boyd's for first SRRS victory

May 8, 2010, 5:14 am
From track reports
Skip Arp heads to victory at Boyd's. (mikessportsimages.com)
Skip Arp heads to victory at Boyd's. (mikessportsimages.com)

RINGGOLD, Ga. (May 7) — Skip Arp of Georgetown, Tenn., raced to his first career Southern Regional Racing Series victory Friday at Boyd's Speedway, outrunning three-time SRRS winner Ray Cook of Brasstown, N.C., at the third-mile oval. Arp earned $3,000. | Slideshow

Cook, who won the night's Crate Late Model feature, settled for second with Tommy Kerr of Maryville, Tenn., rallying from a consolation race victory to finish third. Jacob Grizzle of Blairsville, Ga., and Jake Knowles of Tyrone, Ga., rounded out the top five.

Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, Tenn., going for his second straight SRRS victory, was heading for the front when a flat right rear tire struck on the 10th lap. He raced back toward the front after a pit stop but spun again on the 36th lap while running sixth; Johnson ended up eighth.

Among cautions slowing the action was a second-lap accident on the frontstretch that almost sent Mark Vineyard on his lid. And fast qualifier Mike Weeks broke a driveshaft that stuck in the racing surfacing, standing straight up.

Notes: Arp drives a GRT Race Car. ... Among drivers failing to make the SRRS feature: Jimmy Tucker, Glenn Barnett and Ross White. ... SRRS competitors complete the weekend with a $3,000-to-win event at Wartburg (Tenn.) Speedway.

SRRS @ Boyd's: (1) Skip Arp, (2) Ray Cook, (3) Tommy Kerr, (4) Jacob Grizzle, (5) Jake Knowles, (6) Jay Brinkley, (7) Jamie Perry, (8) Ronnie Johnson, (9) Steven Ashby, (10) Brett Wyatt, (11) Jeff Smith, (12) Rick Hixson, (13) Skylar Marlar, (14) Todd Morrow, (15) Tony Morris, (16) Anthony Burroughs, (17) Mike Tinker, (18) Freddy Smith, (19) Scott Creel, (20) Derek Ellis, (21) Frank Ingram, (22) Mark Vineyard, (23) Mike Weeks, (24) Josh Putnam. Fast qualifier (among 32 cars): Weeks, 13.963 seconds. Consolation race winners: Knowles, Putnam, Kerr. Provisional starters: Brinkley, Ashby.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728