Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Ponderosa Speedway

Marlar leads all 40 laps, takes Junebug Memorial

May 1, 2010, 6:20 am
By Michael Despain
Ponderosa Speedway
Mike Marlar has his hands full in victory lane. (Derrick Strader)
Mike Marlar has his hands full in victory lane. (Derrick Strader)

JUNCTION CITY, Ky. (April 30) — Polesitter Mike Marlar of Winfield, Tenn., led all 40 laps Friday at Ponderosa Speedway for a $3,000 victory in the 11th annual Hugh "Junebug" Rowland Memorial, a National All Star Racing Association event.

Dustin Neat of Dunnville, Ky., was beginning to pressure Marlar in the race's late stages when a lap-35 caution reset the field, and Marlar cruised the rest of the way. Tenth-starting Victor Lee of Stanford, Ky., was third with Brad Neat in fourth, two spots behind his brother. Fast qualifier Eric Wells of Hazard, Ky., rounded out the top five. | Slideshow

Three cautions slowed the action, the most serious on the second lap when Michael Chilton spun in turn one, collecting Jeff Watson, Bobby Wolter Jr., and Arnie Fields. Dustin Linville was pointing the wrong direction in turn four to draw a lap-35 yellow and the caution flag reappeared for debris on the ensuing restart.

Notes: Marlar's Estes Automotive-powered C.J. Rayburn Race Car is sponsored by Mulligan Plumbing, Wayne Bowen Racing Supply, Doors-N-More and G&R Hydraulics. ... Marlar has twice won Junebug Memorial races previously. ... The race was delayed a week by rain. ... Jeremy Hines of Seymour, Ind., won the Crate Late Model feature. ... Next up for NASRA competitors if a May 15 event at Lake Cumberland Speedway in Burnside, Ky.

Junebug Rowland Memorial: (1) Mike Marlar, (2) Dustin Neat, (3) Victor Lee, (4) Brad Neat, (5) Eric Wells, (6) Tim Tungate, (7) Aaron Ridley, (8) Justin Rattliff, (9) Skylar Marlar, (10) Randy Weaver, (11) David Webb, (12) Whitney McQueary, (13) Derek Fisher, (14) Christian Rayburn, (15) Dale Dillon, (16) Aaron Hatton, (17) Dustin Linville, (18) Bobby Wolter Jr., (19) Ernie Cordier, (20) Steve Smith, (21) Michael Chilton, (22) Jeff Watson, (23) Arnie Fields, Fast qualifier (among 35 cars): Wells, 13.908 seconds. Heat race winners: D. Neat, M. Marlar, B. Neat, Linville. Consolation winners: McQueary, Wolter. Provisional starters: Hatton, Webb, Dillon, Cordier.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728