Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Riverside Int'l Speedway

Moyer Jr. rules Riverside for weekend sweep

April 11, 2010, 7:11 am
By Ben Shelton
Mid-South Racing
The happy winner at Riverside. (Woody Hampton)
The happy winner at Riverside. (Woody Hampton)

WEST MEMPHIS, Ark. (April 10) — Fourth-starting Billy Moyer Jr. of Batesville, Ark., completed a weekend sweep on the Comp Cams Mid-South Racing Association with a 40-lap victory at Riverside International Speedway.

Moyer, who won the previous night at Beebe (Ark.) Speedway, outran sixth-starting Jamie Dacus of Lakeland, Tenn., for the $2,000 victory. Polesitter Joey Mack of Benton, Mo., was third followed by 16th-starting Kyle Beard of Trumann, Ark., and 13th-starting Austin Rettig of Sikeston, Mo. | Slideshow

Mack took command early with Jeff Floyd of Walnut Ridge, Ark., and Moyer in pursuit. Moyer went ahead on the seventh lap as the frontrunners headed into lapped traffic.

When the slowing Jon Kirby headed for the infield on lap 11, Moyer made slight contact and lost momentum as Floyd grabbed the lead. Moyer got rolling again to take command on lap 16 for a lead he'd never give up. Floyd's race ended when he had engine problems following the race's final restart with 13 laps remaining. Dacus made his way up to a second-place finish in the race's late stages.

Notes: Moyer's Victory Circle Chassis is sponsored by Banner Valley Hauling, BSB Mgf., Imperial Motors and New Vision Graphics. ... Three cautions slowed the action, the first one lap three for Dewaine Hottinger's flat tire. ... Cody Caldwell drew a lap-25 yellow. ... Kyle Beard was the Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger after advancing from his 16th starting spot to finish fourth. ... Drivers failing to make the feature: Clay Fisher, Eddie Provence, Mike Bilbro, Mike Carr and Larry Potter. ... Next up for MSRA competitors is April 23-24 action at Malden (Mo.) Speedway and I-30 Speedway in Little Rock, Ark.

MSRA @ Riverside: (1) Billy Moyer Jr., (2) Jamie Dacus, (3) Joey Mack, (4) Kyle Beard, (5) Austin Rettig, (6) Jon Mitchell, (7) Ross Camponovo, (8) Ricky Vandergriff, (9) Jeff Sloan, (10) Dewaine Hottinger, (11) Brandon Smith, (12) Terry Henson, (13) Charlie Cole, (14) Greg Alexander, (15) Jeff Floyd, (16) Todd Hall, (17) Cody Caldwell, (18) Wesley Crutchfield, (19) Shane Stephens, (20) Jon Kirby. Heat race winners (among 25 cars): Mack, Floyd, Sloan, Vandergriff. Consolation winners: Caldwell, Beard. Provisional starters: Cole, Stephens.

MSRA points

(Through April 10)
1. Billy Moyer Jr. - 265
2. Joey Mack - 227
3. Jon Mitchell - 215
4. Kyle Beard - 210
5. Dewaine Hottinger - 197
6. Austin Rettig - 195
7. Jeff Sloan - 185
8. Jeff Floyd - 184
9. Terry Henson - 182
(tie) Charlie Cole - 182
(tie) Brandon Smith - 182
Sponsor 1044
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728