Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Clarksville Speedway

Shirley's SRRS invasion successful at Clarksville

March 28, 2010, 7:12 am
From series and track reports
Brian Shirley races toward victory March 27. (photobyconnie.com)
Brian Shirley races toward victory March 27. (photobyconnie.com)

CLARKSVILLE, Tenn. (March 27) — Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill., was in contention for a victory at Clarksville Speedway in his first outing of the season. He came back and got one two weeks later.

Racing to the front from his fifth starting spot with the help of some attrition, Shirley earned $3,000 at the quarter-mile oval for his first career victory on the Southern Regional Racing Series. He topped polesitter Jeff Walston of Paducah, Ky., while Eric Hickerson of Linden, Tenn., was third, the top finishing SRRS regular. | Slideshow

Brandon King of Decatur, Ala., was fourth and Jacob Grizzle of Blairsville, Ga., rallied from 13th to round out the top five finishers. Daniel Miller of Shelbyville, Tenn., started outside the front row and led the first 36 laps, but engine woes forced him out and he ended up 17th in the third series event of 2010. Josh Putnam of Killen, Ala., was in third when a bent control arm and broken balljoined forced him to the pits on lap 36.

Notes: Shirley's Rocket Chassis has a Pro Power Engine and sponsorship from Jayco Construction, Skateland South, Kim's Auto Body and Allstar Performance. ... The event drew 31 drivers from six states. ... The series heads to North Georgia Speedway in Chatsworth for a $3,000-to-win event on April 3.

SRRS @ Clarksville: (1) Brian Shirley, (2) Jeff Walston, (3) Eric Hickerson, (4) Brandon King, (5) Jacob Grizzle, (6) Anthony Burroughs, (7) Tony Morris, (8) Todd Hall, (9) Jay Brinkley, (10) Chuck Proctor, (11) Ray McElhiney, (12) Jason McBride, (13) Jimmy Tucker, (14) Caleb Ashby, (15) Levi Ashby, (16) Joe Denby, (17) Daniel Miller, (18) Josh Putnam, (19) Steven Ashby, (20) John Minon Jr., (21) David Webb, (22) Jason Riggs, (23) Michael Greer, (24) Robbie Sanders. Fast qualifier (among 31 cars): Walston. Consolation race winners: Burroughs, Morris, Proctor. Provisional starters: Greer, Denby.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728