Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Cleveland Speedway

Shamrock 60, $10,000 captured by Davenport

March 20, 2010, 11:32 pm
From series reports
Jonathan Davenport and car builder Barry Wright. (dt52photos.com)
Jonathan Davenport and car builder Barry Wright. (dt52photos.com)

CLEVELAND, Tenn. (March 20) — Encouraging someone to don an enormous green leprachuan hat in front of a crowd isa tough sell in most cases. But when it comes with more green — in the form of a $10,000 winner's purse — it's a little more appealing. | Slideshow

After leading every lap of the Shamrock 60 at Cleveland Speedway, Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga., put on the headwear in victory lane to celebrate his first Southern All Star Racing Series victory of the season and third of his career.

"Since me and (car builder) Barry (Wright) got together, we haven't done nothing but go forward," said Davenport, who pilots Barry Wright's house car. "He's a great man, he's taught me a lot and his cars are getting better every time we run 'em."

The outside front-row-starting Davenport held off Dale McDowell of Rossville, Ga., for the victory at the 3/8-mile oval, the richest March special at Cleveland since McDowell won the Shamrock in '99. Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn., was third followed by polesitter Chris Wall of Holden, La., and Chris Madden of Gray Court, Tenn.

The feature was slowed by a single caution on the 13th lap for fast qualifier Ray Cook of Brasstown, N.C.

Shamrock 60: (1) Jonathan Davenport, (2) Dale McDowell, (3) Jimmy Owens, (4) Chris Wall, (5) Chris Madden, (6) William Thomas, (7) Randy Weaver, (8) Tommy Kerr, (9) Rick Rogers, (10) David Payne, (11) Mark Vineyard, (12) Skip Arp, (13) Frank Heckenast Jr., (14) Stacy Boles, (15) Aaron Ridley, (16) Austin Dillon, (17) Scott Creel, (18) Todd Morrow, (19) Dennis Erb Jr., (20) Lee Sutton, (21) Jake Knowles, (22) Kayne Hickman, (23) Ray Cook, (24) Freddy Smith. Fast qualifier (among 37 cars): Cook, 13.786 seconds. Heat race winners: Wall, Davenport, Madden, McDowell. Consolation winners: Dillon, Weaver.

SAS points

(Through March 20)
1. Jonathan Davenport - 275
2. Randy Weaver - 249
3. Chris Madden - 232
4. Dennis Erb Jr. - 231
5. Chris Wall - 182
6. Scott Creel - 181
7. William Thomas - 172
8. Jimmy Owens - 171
9. Tommy Kerr -164
10. Skip Arp - 162
Sponsor 1044
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728