Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Volusia Speedway Park

Lloyd rebounds for $5,000 Volusia victory

October 25, 2009, 7:12 am
From track reports
Ivedent Lloyd Jr. dominated at Volusia Speedway Park. (ricksdarkroom.com)
Ivedent Lloyd Jr. dominated at Volusia Speedway Park. (ricksdarkroom.com)

BARBERVILLE, Fla. (Oct. 24) — Gaining redemption after losing the lead on the last lap the previous night at his hometown track, polesitter Ivedent Lloyd Jr. of Ocala, Fla., captured Saturday's second round of the Florida State Late Model Championship at Volusia Speedway Park. Lloyd earned $5,000 for the 50-lap victory on the United Late Model Challenge Series. | Slideshow

Johnny Collins of Jacksonville, Fla., finished second followed by ninth-starting Dillon Wood of New Smyrna Beach, Fla., who won his first career UDLMCS victory Friday at Ocala. Fast qualifier Russell Brown Jr. of Valdosta, Ga., was fourth and Richard Ferry of Macclenny, Fla., rounded out the top five in the second-to-last series event of 2009.

Lloyd, driving the David Clegg-owned No. 07, notched his series-leading fourth victory of the season. Mark Whitener of Middleburg, Fla., who was three victories, was eighth at Volusia.

A lap-three pileup involved several drivers, including Lawton Minchew, Jeff Phipps and Russell Brown Jr. Another big wreck followed with Shane Williams, Adam Bedenbaugh and Bo Allen among those retiring. Eight drivers were eliminated in the early scrambles.

Florida State Late Model Championship: (1) Ivedent Lloyd Jr., (2) Johnny Collins, (3) Dillon Wood, (4) Russell Brown Jr., (5) Richard Ferry, (6) Tyler Ivey, (7) Jason Fitzgerald, (8) Mark Whitener, (9) John Rankin, (10) Brandon Dewitt, (11) Wayne Shugart, (12) John Kellum, (13) Jeff Phipps, (14) Donnie Chappell, (15) Phillip Cobb, (16) Gary Spivey, (17) Clay Bedenbaugh, (18) Shan Smith, (19) Darrell Padgett, (20) Bo Allen, (21) Shane Williams, (22) Jason Kimball, (23) Adam Bedenbaugh, (24) Lawton Minchew, (25) Jason Davis. Fast qualifier (among 32 cars): A. Bedenbaugh, 17.897 seconds. Heat race winners: Lloyd, Smith, Collins, Kellum. Consolation winners: Ferry, Spivey.

Correction: Fixes fast qualifier.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728