Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Boyd's Speedway

Ogle's $5,000 Boyd's victory caps TTDCS title

October 25, 2009, 6:44 am
From track and series reports
Billy Ogle Jr. (201) holds off Randy Weaver (116). (mrmracing.net)
Billy Ogle Jr. (201) holds off Randy Weaver (116). (mrmracing.net)

RINGGOLD, Ga. (Oct. 24) — Leading the final nine laps, Billy Ogle Jr. of Knoxville, Tenn., put an exclamation point on his 2009 Tennessee Thunder DirtCar Series championship with a victory in the season finale at Boyd's Speedway.

Ogle, who started sixth in the 24-car field, slipped by Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, Tenn., amid traffic in the late stages of the 60-lapper for a $5,000 victory in the Battle of Ringgold Fall Classic. Runner-up Randy Weaver of Crossville, Tenn., fell short in trying to deny Ogle his fourth series victory of the season while Brandon Kinzer of Allen, Ky., who led the first 22 laps, was third. Last year's TTDCS champion Rick Rogers of Knoxville and Tommy Kerr of Newport, Tenn., Ogle's closest pursuer in the points chase, rounded out the top five. | Slideshow

Johnson, who started on the pole and took the lead from his fellow front-row starter Kinzer on the 23rd lap, controlled the middle stages of the race but eventually faced challenges from Ogle. Johnson tangled with a lapped car with Ogle hot on his heels, handing the lead to Ogle as Johnson ducked to the infield for a tire change. He rallied back to finish eighth.

Notes: Ogle's No. 201 is sponsored by Kilby Equipment, Calhoun's Restaurant and Grady & King Construction. ... Besides his $5,000, Ogle also received a unique 20-pound trophy depicting a Civil War cannon. ... Mike Hill earned hard charger honors for his 24th-to-13th run. ... The event drew 35 entries from six states. ... The feature lasted 49 minutes. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature lineup: David Payne, Kevin Gibson, Kayne Hickman, Steve Smith and George Mashburn.

Battle of Ringgold Fall Classic: (1) Billy Ogle Jr., (2) Randy Weaver, (3) Brandon Kinzer, (4) Rick Rogers, (5) Tommy Kerr, (6) Jacob Grizzle, (7) Jake Knowles, (8) Ronnie Johnson, (9) Mike Weeks, (10) Rick Hixson, (11) Derek Ellis, (12) Jeff Neubert, (13) Mike Hill, (14) Tommy Bailey, (15) Dan Tipton, (16) Jeff Franklin, (17) David Crabtree, (18) Brian Hickman, (19) Billy Mayo, (20) Todd Morrow, (21) Mike Collins, (22) Ricky Arms, (23) Doug Smith, (24) John Owenby. Fast qualifier (among 35 cars): Johnson, 14.691 seconds. Dash winners: Johnson, Kinzer. Consolation race winners: Crabtree, Kerr.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728