Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Duck River Raceway Park

Biggest victory slips from Posey's hands at Duck River

September 8, 2009, 2:35 pm
From series and correspondent reports
Anthony Burroughs inherited the $5,000 victory. (Connie Putnam)
Anthony Burroughs inherited the $5,000 victory. (Connie Putnam)

WHEEL, Tenn. (Sept. 5) — Anthony Burroughs got his Christmas present way early this year. Burroughs, of Muscle Shoals, Ala., inherited the victory in the Southern Regional Racing Series-sanctioned Slo-Moe 50 at Duck River Speedway on Saturday night when apparent winner Corey Posey failed to go directly to the designated post-race inspection area.

Posey, of Petersburg, Tenn., forfeited what would have been his richest career payday when he left the track to go across the scales before returning to the infield for a routine inspection. Instead, it was Burroughs who claimed the $5,000 victory. And it was Burroughs — who started on the front row and led early before Posey slipped by for the lead — who also posted his biggest career win.

James Ward of Lettsworth, La., made a rare visit to Duck River Speedway and was credited with second after starting sixth. Series points leader Jay Brinkley, of Raus, Tenn., was third, with Crossville, Tenn., driver Randy Weaver finishing fourth. Bub McCool, of Vicksburg, Miss., was fifth.

Notes: Burroughs’ BHL Motorsports-owned team is sponsored Mississippi One Call, ABC Cash Register Company, Greene’s Vinyl Products and 444 Race Wraps. The team utilizes MasterSbilt By Stuckey race cars and Wall-2-Wall Performance Engines. … Posey’s disqualification did not set an SRRS precedent. In fact, SRRS officials have penalized drivers twice before for not reporting directly to the infield at the conclusion of a main event. Last season, former series champion Byron Michael was stripped of a victory at Moulton (Ala.) Speedway and Randy Weaver had a runner-up finish erased at Duck River Speedway. Both of those tracks have their weighing station on the outside of the speedway and, like Posey, both Michael and Weaver left the track to go across the scales first. … The four fast qualifiers among 44 drivers during group qualifying were Steven Ashby, Burroughs, Posey and Weaver. Ashby was the first driver to retire from the main event. … Ronnie Johnson, Brinkley, Jake Knowles and Chris Ragan were heat race winners. … 2009 Duck River Speedway track champion Jeff Walker finished 19th. … Group three was one of the stoutest groups with seven drivers from that group making the show, including Wendell Wallace, former track champ Daniel Miller, series points leader Jay Brinkley, 2009 track champ Jeff Walker and local standout Tommy Lawwell, who finished ninth after starting 22nd. … Among drivers not making the feature lineup were David Brannon, Kelly Hanvey, Mark Mears, Neal Baggett, Shannon Davis, Robert Stutts, Jerry Owens and Brian Rickman. … Brinkley leads the SRRS points standings by 285 over Josh Putnam. Burroughs is third, 540 behind Brinkley. … David Gentry won the companion Crate Late Model feature.

Slo-Moe 50: 1. Anthony Burroughs, 2. James Ward, 3. Jay Brinkley, 4. Randy Weaver, 5. Bub McCool, 6. Chris Ragan, 7. Billy Moyer Jr., 8. Tony Morris, 9. Tommy Lawwell, 10. David Gentry, 11. Ray McElhiney, 12. Ben Kittrell, 13. David Seibers, 14. Billy Ogle Jr., 15. Eric Hickerson, 16. Brandon King. 17. Jake Knowles, 18. Daniel Miller, 19. Jeff Walker, 20. Josh Putnam, 21. Ronnie Johnson, 22. Wendell Wallace, 23. Steven Ashby. Disqualifier: Corey Posey.

SRRS points

(Through Sept. 5)
1. Jay Brinkley - 2,435
2. Josh Putnam - 2,150
3. Anthony Burroughs - 1,895
4. Tony Morris - 1,800
5. David Seibers - 1,790
6. Tyler Landers - 1,780
7. Corey Posey - 1,710
8. Jimmy Tucker - 1,615
9. Perry Delaney - 1,535
10. Chris Ragan -1,465

Sponsor 1177
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728