Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

201 Speedway

Kinzer gets $5,000 for first O'Reilly BoB victory

September 6, 2009, 6:09 am
By Michael Despain
O'Reilly Battle of the Bluegrass DirtCar Series
Brandon Kinzer (18) works the inside groove at 201 Speedway. (Derrick Strader)
Brandon Kinzer (18) works the inside groove at 201 Speedway. (Derrick Strader)

SITKA, Ky. (Sept. 5) — Grabbing his first-ever series victory, Brandon Kinzer of Allen, Ky., won at nearby 201 Speedway for a $5,000 victory on the O'Reilly Battle of the Bluegrass DirtCar Series. Kinzer took the lead from Dustin Linville of Bryantsville, Ky., on the 13th lap and led the rest of the 50-lapper at the quarter-mile oval in eastern Kentucky.

Series points leader Victor Lee of Stanford, Ky., finished second with Justin Rattliff of Campbellsville, Ky. in third. Linville, who took the lead from Shon Flanary of Mount Carmel, Tenn., on the second lap and led 11 circuits, was fourth and former series champion Aaron Hatton of Mount Sterling, Ky., rounded out the top five. Flanary, who led the first lap, ended up eighth.

The event, the second of a tripleheader holiday weekend on series, the was slowed by nine caution flags and a lap-10 red flag when David Webb's machine was rear-ended by Terry Hicks.

Notes: The 31-year-old Kinzer's GRT Race Car is sponsored by the Will Kinzer Foundation for Autism Research, Kinzer Drilling, Quality Gas and Oil, Eastco Supply, Commonwealth Chiropractic Center, Art’s Radiator and Welding, RideHonda.com and Phase II Sign Supply. ... Tim Tungate (spin lap 2), Cowan Kinney (spin lap 4, spin lap 35), Jamie Ferguson (into guardrail lap 4), Kevin Wagner (slowed lap 10), Brandon Fouts (slowed lap 11), David Webb (mid-race spin) were among drivers bringing out yellow flags. ... David Powers won PPM Racing Products Hard Charger honors with his 23rd-to-10th run. ... The series completes a three-race Labor Day weekend with a $5,000-to-win event Sunday at Tazewell (Tenn.) Speedway.

O'Reilly BoB @ 201: (1) Brandon Kinzer, (2) Victor Lee, (3) Justin Rattliff, (4) Dustin Linville, (5) Aaron Hatton, (6) Eric Wells, (7) Paul Harris, (8) Shon Flanary, (9) Mike Jewell, (10) David Powers, (11) D.J. Wells, (12) Greg Johnson, (13) Michael Paul Howard, (14) Jamie Ferguson, (15) Harold Redman Jr., (16) Shannon Thornsberry, (17) Cowan Kinney, (18) David Webb, (19) Brandon Fouts, 920) Terry Hicks, (21) Dustin Neat, (22) Kevin Wagner, (23) Anthony Adams, (24) Tim Tungate. Fast qualifier (among 32 cars): Thornsberry, 14.000 seconds. Heat race winners: Thornsberry, Flanary, Kinzer. Consolation winner: Jewell. Provisional starters: Howard, Wagner, Powers, Kinney.

Correction: Fixes editor's error of Kinzer's chassis brand; he drove a GRT.

O'Reilly BoB points

(Through Sept. 5)
1. Victor Lee - 3,050
2. David Webb - 2,841
3. Aaron Hatton - 2,368
4. Mike Marlar - 2,295
5. Dustin Neat - 2,184
6. Mike Jewell - 2,026
7. Justin Rattliff - 1,992
8. Dustin Linville - 1,964
9. Eric Wells - 1,877
10. Michael Chilton - 1,844
Sponsor 1177
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728