Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Ponderosa Speedway

Lee zips to third straight BoB victory at Ponderosa

September 5, 2009, 6:41 am
By Michael Despain
O'Reilly Battle of the Bluegrass DirtCar Series
Victor Lee (55) battles with Eric Wells (18). (Derrick Strader)
Victor Lee (55) battles with Eric Wells (18). (Derrick Strader)

JUNCTION CITY, Ky. (Sept. 4) — Taking the lead on the fourth lap, Victor Lee of Stanford, Ky., stayed in control the rest of the Pepsi 40 on Friday at Ponderosa Speedway for his series-leading fifth victory on the O'Reilly Battle of the Bluegrass DirtCar Series. The two-time series champion and current points leader earned $4,000 for his third straight series victory and 12th of his career.

Eric Wells of Hazard, Ky., chased Lee most of the event in finishing second while Justin Rattliff of Campbellsville, Ky., Mike Marlar of Winfield, Tenn., and David Webb of Nicholasville, Ky., rounded out the top five. Webb rallied back to the front after tangling with Dustin Linville of Bryantsville, Ky., while they battled for the lead on the third lap.

Linville, who led the first three laps, spun in turn two on the fourth lap while trying to fight off a challenge from Lee.

The event was the first of a Labor Day weekend tripleheader that wraps up the season. Saturday's event at 201 Speedway in Sitka, Ky., is followed by a Sunday visit to Tazewell (Tenn.) Speedway.

Notes: Lee's Steve West and Gary Craig-owned Rayburn Race Car has a Corder Competition Engine and sponsorship from Quality Pawn, Advance Auto Parts, Kentucky’s Best Racing, West Towing and American Racer Tires. ... The event was slowed by six cautions. ... Greg Johnson, Daniel Hatcher and Bobby Carrier Jr. got together for a lap-three yellow. ... Brad Neat of Dunnville, Ky., ran as high as fourth but dropped out with mechanical problems on the 13th lap. ... His brother Dustin Neat drew a lap-24 with a turn-two spin. ... Tyrel Todd of Eubanks, Ky., earned PPM Racing Products Hard Charger honors with his 21st-to-11th run.

Pepsi 40: (1) Victor Lee, (2) Eric Wells, (3) Justin Rattliff, (4) Mike Marlar, (5) David Webb, (6) Mike Jewell, (7) Jeff Watson, (8) Aaron Hatton, (9) Shon Flanary, (10) Tyrel Todd, (11) Tim Tungate, (12) Brandon Hardgrove, (13) Bobby Carrier Jr., (14) Dustin Neat, (15) Scott James, (16) Jimmy Crabtree, (17) Johnny Wheeler, (18) Brad Neat, (19) Dustin Linville, (20) Ernie Cordier, (21) Kayne Hickman, (22) Greg Johnson, (23) Daniel Hatcher. Scratched: Jason Hinkle. Fast qualifier (among 29 cars): Lee, 14.081 seconds. Heat race winners: Linville, Flanary, Webb. Consolation winner: James. Provisional starter: Todd, Hickman, Cordier, Hinkle.

O'Reilly BoB points

(Through Sept. 4)
1. Victor Lee - 2,812
2. David Webb - 2,700
3. Mike Marlar - 2,295
4. Aaron Hatton - 2,157
5. Dustin Neat - 2,058
6. Michael Chilton - 1,844
7. Bobby Wolter Jr. - 1,843
8. Mike Jewell - 1,840
9. Justin Rattliff - 1,764
10. Dustin Linville - 1,746
Sponsor 1192
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728