Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Boyd's Speedway

Demise of Ogle, Marlar lifts Weaver at Boyd's

June 27, 2009, 10:02 am
From series reports
Billy Ogle Jr.'s broken hub knocked him out. (dt52photos.com)
Billy Ogle Jr.'s broken hub knocked him out. (dt52photos.com)

RINGGOLD, Ga. (June 26) — With two leaders falling by the wayside, Randy Weaver of Crossville, Tenn., was out front when it counted at Boyd's Speedway for his second Tennessee Thunder DirtCar Series victory of the season. Weaver, guesting in the Bob Harris-owned No B1, earned $3,000 for the victory. | Slideshow

Fast qualifier Billy Ogle Jr. of Knoxville, Tenn., started on the pole and led 26 laps before he lost a wheel with broken left rear hub, sending the wheel across the track in turn four and ending his race prematurely. Weaver, who had overtaken Tommy Kerr of Maryville, Tenn., four laps earlier, inherited the lead.

With Kerr contesting Weaver's position on lap 40, 22nd-starting Mike Marlar of Winfield, Tenn., flew into the mix, passing both drivers to grab the lead backstretch to take command. During the three-car battle for the lead, Kerr slammed Marlar from behind, spinning him out of contention. Kerr was sent to the tail for rough driving, handing the lead back to Weaver. Marlar was sent to the rear by series officials and elected to take his car to the pits.

Weaver led the rest of the way for the victory while 20th-starting Anthony White of Clinton, Tenn., rallied to finish second ahead of Knoxville's Mark Vineyard. Hometown youngster Cody Barnett was fourth followed by 14th-starting Jake Knowles of Tyrone, Ga.

Notes: Weaver drove a Bob Harris-owned GRT Race Car powered by a Vic Hill Racing Engine and sponsored by Preferred Sandblasting and Painting. ... Weaver normally drives a Mike Hill-owned GRT ... Weaver previously won on the series April 18 at Mountain Raceway Park in Maryville, Tenn. ... Weaver is tied for second in all-time series victories with seven. ... The event drew 32 drivers from five states. ... Mike Marlar tooka provisional after engine belt problems in qualifying. ... Drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Bryan Hendrix, Dee Vaught, Billy Jack Hodgens, Joey McCoy, J.J. Nye, Josh Johnson and Mike Tinker. ... The series takes a month off before an Aug. 1 event at Maryville.

Shriners Benefit: (1) Randy Weaver, (2) Anthony White, (3) Mark Vineyard, (4) Cody Barnett, (5) Jake Knowles, (6) David Payne, (7) Kevin Gibson, (8) Tommy Kerr, (9) David McCoy, (10) Derek Ellis, (11) Robert Gant, (12) Shon Flanary, (13) Doug Smith, (14) Doug Smith, (15) John Owenby, (16) Mike Marlar, (17 ) Brett Wyatt, (18) Kayne Hickman, (19) Joe Armes, (20) Billy Ogle Jr., (21) Brian Hickman, (22) Jamie Perry, (23) Stacy Boles, (24) Ronnie Johnson, (25) Lee Sutton, (26) Todd Morrow. Fast qualifier (among 32 cars): Ogle, 14.122 seconds. Dash winners: Ogle, Ellis. Consolation race winners: Gant, Knowles. Provisional starter: Marlar.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728