Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1187
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Greenville Speedway

Wall's three-wide pass leads to MSCC victory

June 20, 2009, 6:24 pm
From series reports
Chris Wall picks up the checkered flag. (Tammy Davis)
Chris Wall picks up the checkered flag. (Tammy Davis)

GREENVILLE, Miss. (June 19) — Going to the lead with a dramatic three-wide pass on the 18th lap, fifth-starting Chris Wall of Holden, La., led the rest of the 40-lapper at Greenville Speedway for his fourth Mississippi State Championship Series victory of the season. Wall took the checkered flag ahead of Chad Thrash of Meridian, Miss., for the $2,500 victory.

Thrash got the runner-up spot despite a lap-12 spin that dropped him from third to seventh without the caution flag showing. Polesitter Scott Slay of Clinton, Miss., settled for third with hometown driver Greg Fore and Scott Creel of Franklinton, La., rounding out the top five.

Several frontrunning drivers weren't around at the finish. Bub McCool of Vicksburg, Miss., started outside the front row and led the first eight laps, but he broke a left-rear wheel and retired on the 11th lap. David Ashley led laps 9-17 but a flat right-rear tire knocked him from contention and he pulled out on lap 24.

Clay Fisher, who started 13th, was running fourth at the white flag but lost a driveshaft in turn two. He collected the fifth-running Jeremy Broadus and both dropped out of the top 10.

Notes: Wall's MasterSbilt Race Car has a Wall 2 Wall Performance Engine and sponsorship from C&M Gator Farm, Gator Trax Boats and Stuckey Enterprises. ... Wall is the career leader in MSCC victories with 29. ... The series completes the weekend with an event Saturday at Jackson (Miss.) Motor Speedway.

MSCC @ Greenville: (1) Chris Wall, (2) Chad Thrash, (3) Scott Slay, (4) Greg Fore, (5) Scott Creel, (6) Mark Tice (7) Charles Gaines, (8) Dean Carpenter, (9) Craig Turan, (10) Leon Henderson, (11) Jeremy Broadus, (12) Clay Fisher, (13) Mike Poyner, (14) David Ashley, (15) Anthony Burroughs, (16) Doug Showah, (17) Talbet Goldman, (18) Mickey Trosclair, (19) Bub McCool, (20) Neil Baggett, (21) Bo Gordon, (22) Steve Bryan. Fast qualifier (among 27 cars): McCool, 14.350 seconds. Dash winner: Slay. Consolation winners: Tice, Creel.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728