Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1187
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Whynot Motorsports Park

Wall fends off Thrash for third MSCC victory

May 31, 2009, 10:33 pm
By Scott White
Whynot Motorsports Park
Chris Wall tunes up before his third MSCC victory. (theinfieldidiot.smugmug.com)
Chris Wall tunes up before his third MSCC victory. (theinfieldidiot.smugmug.com)

MERIDIAN, Miss. (May 30) — Polesitter Chris Wall of Holden, La., outdueled fellow front-row starter Chad Thrash of Collinsville, Miss., at the outset and raced to a 50-lap Mississippi State Championship Series victory at Whynot Motorsports Park. Wall, the 2006 series champion, earned $2,500 for his series-leading third victory of the season. | Slideshow

Thrash made several attempts to get alongside wall, but eventually settled for second while Mike Boland of Cuba, Ala., rallied to finish third. David Ashley of Zachary, La., and Brian Rickman of Columbus, Miss., rounded out the top five.

Wall's 28th career victory leads the eight-year tour; Boland, the 2001-02 champion, is second all-time with 16 career victories.

Notes: Wall's MasterSbilt Race Car has a Wall 2 Wall Performance Engine and sponsorship from C&M Gator Farm, Gator Trax Boats and Stuckey Enterprises. ... Wall's previous 2009 MSCC victories came at South Mississippi Speedway near Pass Christian. ... Lucky Keeton and Jim McDuffie won NeSmith Chevrolet-sanctioned weekly features for Crate Late Models, one of them a makeup from a rainout earlier in the month. ... A few drivers were injured during the night's action. Randy Boyd Thompson suffered a left rotator cuff injury in a three-car crash during the main event and was taken to a local hospital ... In the Crrate division, Tody Ratcliff suffered a foot injury in a multicar pileup on the backstretch and was also taken to the hospital. ... Keith House's Late Model flipped in turn one during an MSCC consolation race, but he wasn't injured. ... Whynot is dark the first weekend in June with Magnolia Motor Speedway near Columbus, Miss., hosting the Governor's Cup on June 6, which features a $5,000-to-win Super Late Model feature. ... Next up for MSCC competitors is a June 12 event at Northwest Florida Speedway in Blackman, Fla., the first-ever visit to the track.

MSCC @ Whynot: (1) Chris Wall, (2) Chad Thrash, (3) Mike Boland, (4) David Ashley, (5) Brian Rickman, (6) Scott Slay, (7) Jason Cliburn, (8) Chris McElhenney, (9) Jim McDuffie, (10) Keith Miller, (11) Jeremy Broadus, (12) Steve Bryan, (13) Charles Gaines, (14) Leon Henderson, (15) Justin McRee, (16) Scott Creel, (17) Randy Boyd Thompson, (18) Billy McDonald, (19) Mickey Trosclair, (20) Kevin Kennedy, (21) Bub McCool, (22) Neil Baggett, (23) Greg Dedwylder, (24) Bill Hasselle. Fast qualifier (among 26 cars): Wall, 13.151 seconds. Consolation race winners: Jason Cliburn, Jeremy Broadus. Dash winner: Wall.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728