Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Wartburg Speedway

Marlar grabs $3,000 victory at Wartburg

April 18, 2009, 3:28 pm
From track and series reports
Mike Marlar tunes up before his Wartburg victory. (dt52photos.com)
Mike Marlar tunes up before his Wartburg victory. (dt52photos.com)

WARTBURG, Tenn. (April 17) — Eighth-starting Mike Marlar of Winfield, Tenn., led the final 17 laps at Wartburg Speedway for a $3,000 victory co-sanctioned by a pair of Tennessee-based Dirt Late Model series. Marlar, who was up to third after two laps, got the lead from polesitter and race-long leader Tommy Kerr of Maryville, Tenn., on the 24th of 40 laps in the Southern Regional Racing Series and Tennessee Thunder DirtCar Series event. | Slideshow

Jay Brinkley of Shelbyville, Tenn., was second with former TTDCS champion Anthony White of Clinton, Tenn., third. Billy Ogle Jr. of Knoxville, Tenn., was fourth and Josh Putnam of Killen, Ala., was the top non-Tennessee driver, finishing fifth. Kerr ended up 19th.

Notes: Marlar’s victory came in an Estes Racing Engines-powered Rocket Chassis sponsored by ADC, Allstar Performance, Arizona Sport Shirts and Bowen Racing Supply. ... The race was slowed by six cautions. ... The event lasted 33 minutes with the checkered flag falling at 11:39 p.m. ... Brandon Kinzer scratched from the feature lineup. ... Failing to make the feature lineup was Michael Luna, Steve Vann and Freddy Dutton.

TTDCS-SRRS @ Wartburg: (1) Mike Marlar, (2) Jay Brinkley, (3) Anthony White, (4) Billy Ogle Jr., (5) Josh Putnam, (6) Dan Tipton, (7) Rick Rogers, (8) Vic Hill, (9) Tyler Landers, (10) David Seibers, (11) Chad Ogle, (12) John Kellum, (13) Daniel Miller, (14) Tony Morris, (15) Corey Posey, (16) Ben Kittrell, (17) Doug Smith, (18) Jeff Neubert, (19) Tommy Kerr, (20) Jimmy Tucker, (21) Perry Delaney, (22) Cale Finley, (23) Steve Smith. Fast qualifier (amomg 27 cars): Kerr, 12.855 seconds. Dash winner: Kerr. Consolation race winners: Putnam, Seibers, Delaney.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728