Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Oglethorpe Speedway Park

Collins nabs $3,000 NLMS victory at Oglethorpe

March 16, 2009, 10:30 am
From series reports
Johnny Collins tunes up March 14 at Oglethorpe. (carlsonracephotos.com)
Johnny Collins tunes up March 14 at Oglethorpe. (carlsonracephotos.com)

SAVANNAH, Ga. (March 14) — Fourth-starting Johnny Collins of Jacksonville, Fla., overtook outside front-row starter Darrell Padgett amid traffic and captured Saturday's 50-lap National Late Model Series feature at Oglethorpe Speedway Park. On a night when passing was difficult at the half-mile oval, Collins was rewarded with a $3,000 payoff.

Padgett, of Clay Hill, Fla., held on to finish second followed by Branden Yawn of Springfield, Ga., Bo Allen of Baldwin, Fla., and Cale Simons of Albany, Ga. Jason Fitzgerald of Jacksonville, going for his third series victory of 2009, got together in the first turn with polesitter Steve Jones of Milan, Ga., while battling for third, knocking both drivers out of contention.

Notes: Collins drove a Barry Wright Race Car powered by a Southern Style Engine and sponsored by Fickling Construction and AR&R Trucking. ... Chuck Chitty was the only driver to miss the feature event. ... The next scheduled NLMS event is April 24-25 at Golden Isles Speedway near Brunswick, Ga., but the series announced an additional race may be scheduled to be run before that.

NLMS @ Oglethorpe: (1) Johnny Collins, (2) Darrell Padgett, (3) Branden Yawn, (4) Bo Allen, (5) Cale Simons, (6) Garrett Shurling, (7) Jordy Nipper, (8) Mitch Fulford, (9) Robbie Cowart, (10) Brandon Cameron, (11) Chaz Haskins, (12) Henry Carter, (13) Brad Comer, (14) John Greene, (15) Jason Fitzgerald, (16) Eric Register, (17) Bobby Oglesby, (18) Donnie Bazemore, (19) Kyle Bridges, (20) Robert Diekemper, (21) Tommy Burrows, (22) Patrick Williams, (23) Jim Manka, (24) Steve Jones, (25) Mark Davis, (26) J.R. Moseley. Fast qualifier (among 27 cars): Jones.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728