Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1187
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

North Georgia Speedway

Madden collects $5,000 for North Georgia win

March 8, 2009, 11:32 am
From series and correspondent reports
Chris Madden (44) overtakes leader Ty Dillon. (dt52photos.com)
Chris Madden (44) overtakes leader Ty Dillon. (dt52photos.com)

CHATSWORTH, Ga. (March 7) — Former two-time series champion Chris Madden of Gray Court, S.C., overtook front-row starter Ty Dillon of Lewisville, N.C., on the 18th lap at North Georgia Speedway's Ernest Young Memorial and led the remainder of the O'Reilly Southern All Star 50-lapper for a $5,000 payday. Madden, who started fourth in the 24-car field, crossed the finish line ahead of 12th-starting Randy Weaver of Crossville, Tenn., who rallied after winning a consolation race. Third-starting Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn., was third while Brandon Kinzer of Allen, Ky., and the 17-year-old Dillon rounded out the top five at the third-mile oval. | Slideshow

Polesitter Dale McDowell of Rossville, Ga., the fastest qualifier among 41 entrants in the fourth SAS event of the season, spun by himself on the second lap to hand the lead to Dillon. McDowell went to the taili and ended up 11th. Besides McDowell's spin, among other yellow flags were on the fourth lap for a spin by Skip Arp, for Todd Morrow on the 27th lap and for Tommy Kerr's late-race spin.

“I had a great car tonight," Madden said. "We finally made the right choice on tires here. We have finished second the last few times we have been here because we went the wrong way on tires."

Notes: Madden's Bloomquist Race Car has a Clements Racing Engine and sponsorship from Century Plastics, Hamrick's, Henderson Amusement and Alllstar Performance. ... Madden, the 2005-06 series champ, has 34 career series victories. ... Among drivers who failed to make the feature: Austin Hubbard, Terry Casey, Shon Flanary, Ricky Arms, Kevin Gibson, Kayne Hickman and Jake Knowles. ... The Southern All Stars move to Cleveland (Tenn.) Speedway on March 14 for the 14th annual Shamrock, then head for Lavonia (Ga.) Speedway on March 21. Both events pay $5,000 to the winner.

Ernest Young Memorial: (1) Chris Madden, (2) Randy Weaver, (3) Jimmy Owens, (4) Brandon Kinzer, (5) Ty Dillon, (6) Skip Arp, (7) Anthony White, (8) Clint Smith, (9) Shane Clanton, (10) Jeff Smith, (11) Dale McDowell, (12) Tony Knowles, (13) Derek Ellis, (14) Eric Jacobsen, (15) Gary McPherson, (16) Casey Roberts, (17) Aaron Ridley, (18) Tommy Kerr, (19) Tommy Bailey, (20) Joe Armes, (21) Ethan Hunter, (22) Steve Smith, (23) Todd Morrow, (24) Ronny Lee Hollingsworth. Fast qualifier (among 41 cars): McDowell, 12.725 seconds. Consolation race winners: Knowles, Weaver. Provisional starters: Hollingsworth, Hunter.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728