Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

World of Outlaws Craftsman Late Model Series

Clanton crowned at World of Outlaws banquet

November 12, 2015, 11:32 am
From series reports
Shane Clanton shows off his $100,000 check. (Barry Lenhart)
Shane Clanton shows off his $100,000 check. (Barry Lenhart)

CONCORD, N.C. (Nov. 9) — An emotional Shane Clanton stood before his friends, family and fellow competitors Monday afternoon to receive his first World of Outlaws Late Model Series Championship at the tour’s postseason banquet.

Clanton and his Weldbank Energy Racing team were a force through 2015, picking up 10 series wins, including a sweep of DIRTcar Nationals in February and the coveted 'Big Gator,' 34 top-five finishes and 37 top-10 finishes. With the $100,000 championship check, Clanton earned $322,320 during the 2015 series season. | Video | Slideshow

"I know for a long time I've been sitting at one of them tables," Clanton said. "Not the first two like Josh (Richards) said. Those have been occupied by Darrell (Lanigan), Josh and (Rick) Eckert for the last seven years, I think. It's been tough. Brandon (Overton) and (Jordan) Yaggy, I've been doing this for a long time, I was back there where you are for the first two years I did this deal. Just keep your head down and work hard and you'll prevail.

"It's been a journey. A lot of people have helped me through my career and I never had enough money to do this on my own. Just hard work. I had some good car owners back in the past."

Clanton thanked his family and crew members for their support.

"It's a real special week for us. My dad, he's not here but I know he's looking down," Clanton said. "Next Saturday he's getting inducted into the Hall of Fame in Georgia and that means a lot. This week has been emotional for sure and I know he's looking down and smiling at everything we're doing. It means a lot to my family, the next coming week. I just love doing what I'm doing and he put this in me to do what I'm doing and it's very special."

Clanton also received the VP Racing Fuels Award and his crew chief Brock Wise was the 2015 Crew Chief of the Year award recipient.

In addition to his 10th-place position in the championship points standings, Brandon Overton was named the 2015 Rookie of the Year presented by ButlerBuilt and received a $10,000 bonus. He congratulated fellow rookie contender Jordan Yaggy.

"(Jordan) deserves to win this thing as much as I do," Overton said. "He and his family are probably the nicest people I've ever met. I'm proud of finishing 10th and this rookie deal but more than that, this thing is tough. I really didn't know what I was getting into and, like I said, it's just a struggle to keep going. Last night when I took that checkered flag at Charlotte, I didn't win a race and all, but it made me feel so good that I stuck it out through all the bad. I finished it out and I won the rookie. I've got to thank everyone else who helps me."

Overton also received the Raye Vest Memorial Pill Draw Award for the best average pill draw of the season. The award came with a $500 bonus.

Josh Richards, a three-time series champion who finished second in the points standings this season, received the award for the worst average pill draw and a $500 bonus.

Matt Curl and Gunner Sullivan, promoters of Fairbury (Ill.) American Legion Speedway, were honored as the 2015 World of Outlaws Late Model Promoters of the Year.

Additional awards were presented to Clements Racing Engines as the Engine Builder of the Year, Capital Race Cars as the Chassis Builder of the Year and Chase Junghans as the DirtOnDirt.com Hard Charger.

WoO points fund

1. Shane Clanton - $100,000
2. Josh Richards - $60,000
3. Chub Frank - $40,000
4. Rick Eckert - $35,000
5. Morgan Bagley - $30,000
6. Tim McCreadie - $23,500
7. Chase Junghans - $22,500
8. Frank Heckenast Jr. - $23,000
9. Eric Wells - $21,000
10. Brandon Overton - $30,000-x
x-includes $10,000 Rookie of the Year bonus

WoO final standings

1. Shane Clanton - 5,736
2. Josh Richards - 5,694
3. Chub Frank - 5,482
4. Rick Eckert - 5,396
5. Morgan Bagley - 5,296
6. Tim McCreadie - 5,256
7. Chase Junghans - 5,228
8. Frank Heckenast Jr. - 5,182
9. Eric Wells - 5,134
10. Brandon Overton - 4,854
11. Boom Briggs - 4,782
12. Darrell Lanigan - 4,722
Sponsor 1188
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728