Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Oakshade Raceway

Noonan wins Oldfield Memorial for richest payday

June 15, 2008, 6:20 am
From correspondent reports
Casey Noonan won a career-high $4,400. (Ken Cunningham)
Casey Noonan won a career-high $4,400. (Ken Cunningham)

WAUSEON, Ohio (June 14) — Starting ninth at Oakshade Raceway, Casey Noonan picked his way through the field and captured the 19th annual Barney Oldfield Memorial to earn a career-high $4,400 in just his fourth career feature victory. "We won at Eldora and that was big," the Sylvania, Ohio, driver said, "but winning on my home track where all my family and fans are, it’s just indescribable.” | Slideshow

Rusty Schlenk of Jackson, Mich., who started fifth in the 20-car field, was second in the 40-lapper at the 3/8-mile oval in northern Ohio. Kevin Reeve of Hanover, Mich., was third followed by Ohio drivers Ronnie Perrine Jr. of Lima and Dusty Moore of Swanton. Polesitter Mike Bores of Bellevue, Ohio, was 15th in the independent UMP DIRTcar-sanctioned event.

Noonan avoided an early calamity on a double-wide restart that knocked a few frontrunners from contention, then deftly handled lapped traffic late in the race for the victory. The event drew 39 cars.

Barney Oldfield Memorial: (1) Casey Noonan, (2) Rusty Schlenk, (3) Kevin Reeve, (4) Ronnie Perrine Jr., (5) Dusty Moore, (6) Brian Ruhlman, (7) Hillard Miller, (8) Brad Eitniear, (9) Kris Patterson, (10) Rusty Seaver, (11) Zac Davis, (12) Rody Schroyer, (13) Jerry Bowersock, (14) Zack Olger, (15) Mike Bores, (16) Dan Wallace, (17) Ky Harper, (18) Frank Seder, (19) Bill Hahn, (20) Mike Miller. Heat race winners (among 39 cars): Reeve, Schlenk, Olger, Bores. Consolation winners: Harper, Seaver.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728