Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Batesville Motor Speedway

Fast Facts: 22nd annual Comp Cams Topless 100

August 12, 2014, 4:40 pm
From series and staff reports
Cars run roofless at Batesville. (rickschwalliephotos.com)
Cars run roofless at Batesville. (rickschwalliephotos.com)

22nd annual Comp Cams Topless 100

Dates: Aug. 14-16 (practice on Thursday; time trials and heat races Friday; consolations and 100-lap main event Saturday)

Track: Batesville Motor Speedway, Locust Grove, Ark. (3/8-mile high-banked oval)

Purse: $40,000-to-win, $2,000-to-start

Sanction: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

Tickets: General admission $20 Friday and $25 Saturday; pit passes $20 Thursday, $35 Friday and Saturday; see track website for more details.

On the web: batesvillemotorspeedway.net or lucasdirt.com

Phone: (870) 613-1337

Last year’s winner: Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo., worked past Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn., on a lap-78 restart and led the rest of the way for his first Topless 100 victory.

Notes: The total purse is more than $130,000. … Cars run roofless, allowing fans a better view of drivers in the cockpit. … Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series points leader Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn., is among previous winners. … Batesville has had seven winners in the past seven years. … Scott Bloomquist and Billy Moyer are tied with four victories apiece; Bloomquist’s last victory came in 2011 while Moyer’s most recent was 2005. … The series is making its ninth visit to Batesville; Lucas Oil competitors made two trips apiece to the track in 2012-13, but this will be the lone visit of 2014. … In the only other open-competition engine Late Model event at Batesville this season, hometown driver Wendell Wallace won on the Comp Cams Super Dirt Series. … That Arkansas-based tour, whose director Chris Ellis has flagged many events at Batesville, is co-sanctioning this year’s event for the first time. … Kyle Beard of Trumann, Ark., leads that tour’s points. … A driver autograph session is scheduled for Saturday afternoon. … Crop Production Services is the presenting sponsor. … The race is part of the Bad Boy Mowers TV Challenge and ASi Crown Jewel Cup.

Comp Camps Topless 100 winners

(Complete race history)
Year: Winner, hometown
2013: Terry Phillips, Springfield, Mo.
2012: Steve Francis, Ashland, Ky.
2011: Scott Bloomquist, Mooresburg, Tenn.
2010: Jared Landers, Batesville, Ark.
2009: Jimmy Owens, Newport, Tenn.
2008: Tim McCreadie, Watertown, N.Y.
2007: Jimmy Mars, Menomonie, Wis.
2006: Scott Bloomquist, Mooresburg, Tenn.
2005: Billy Moyer, Batesville, Ark.
2004. Dale McDowell, Rossville, Ga.
2003: Shannon Babb, Decatur, Ill.
2002: Billy Moyer, Batesville, Ark.
2001: Scott Bloomquist, Mooresburg, Tenn.
2000: Jimmy Mars, Elk Mound, Wis.
1999: Scott Bloomquist, Mooresburg, Tenn.
1998: Wendell Wallace, Conway, Ark.
1997: Billy Moyer, Batesville, Ark.
1996: Bill Frye, Greenbrier, Ark.
1995: Billy Moyer, Batesville, Ark.
1994: Freddy Smith, Baton Rouge, La.
1993: Tony Cardin, Greenbrier, Ark.

Comp Cams Topless 100 purse

1. $40,000
2. $20,000
3. $10,000
4. $6,000
5. $5,000
6. $4,500
7. $4,000
8. $3,500
9. $3,000
10. $2,800
11. $2,600
12. $2,500
13. $2,450
14. $2,400
15. $2,350
16. $2,300
17. $2,250
18. $2,200
19. $2,175
20. $2,150
21. $2,100
22. $2,075
23. $2,050
24. $2,000

Comp Cams Topless 100 schedule

(Open practice session)
3 p.m.: All gates open
(Race program: Late Model hot laps, time trials and heat races; full program for modifieds)
3 p.m.: Pit gates open
4 p.m. Grandstands open
(Race program: Late Model consolation races and 100-lap main event)
3 p.m.: Pit gates open
4 p.m. Grandstands open

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728