Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Bristol Motor Speedway

ROUNDUP: Birkhofer captures Prairie Dirt Classic

September 3, 2007, 11:14 pm
From track and series reports
Dennis Erb Jr. (28) found the lead late on Aug. 31 at Farmer City, Ill. (Shawn Crose)
Dennis Erb Jr. (28) found the lead late on Aug. 31 at Farmer City, Ill. (Shawn Crose)

A roundup of Labor Day weekend special events in the Midwest:

Birkhofer leads every lap
of Prairie Dirt Classic

FAIRBURY, Ill. (Sept. 1) — Brian Birkhofer of Muscatine, Iowa, led all 50 laps of the 18th annual Prairie Dirt Classic at Fairbury (Ill.) American Legion Speedway for a $10,000 UMP-sanctioned victory. Birkhofer, who started outside polesitter Eric Smith, outran former winners Jimmy Mars and Billy Moyer in front of one of the biggest crowds in the history of the track. Dennis Erb Jr. rallied from his 14th starting spot to finish fourth and Steve Sheppard Jr. rounded out the top five. — From track and newspaper reports

Prairie Dirt Classic: (1) Brian Birkofer, (2) Jimmy Mars, (3) Billy Moyer, (4) Dennis Erb Jr., (5) Steve Sheppard Jr., (6) Shannon Babb, (7) Darren Miller, (8) Richie Hedrick, (9) Wes Steidinger, (10) Eric Smith, (11) Derek Chandler, (12) Chris Dick, (13) Joe Harlan, (14) Donny Walden, (15) Patrick Sheltra, (16) Scott Bull, (17) R.J. Gall, (18) Junior Shickel, (19) Daren Friedman, (20) Kevin Weaver. Fast qualifier (among 43 cars): Moyer, 12.75 seconds. Heat race winners: Birkhofer, Moyer, Smith, Sheppard. Consolation winners: Steidinger, Shickel.

Erb picks up $5,000 payday at Farmer City

FARMER CITY, Ill. (Aug. 31) — Dennis Erb Jr. came out on top of a three-way duel for the lead at Farmer City Raceway for a UMP-sanctioned victory worth $5,000. Steidinger was in command of the 40-lapper early, but Billy Moyer moved up to challenge on lap 23. Erb joined the battle on lap 27 and the Carpentersville, Ill., driver took the lead for good on lap 32. Stiedinger settled for second with Moyer third. Scott Bull, who wrapped up the track Late Model championship, finished 11th. — Dan Stewart

Farmer City: (1) Dennis Erb Jr., (2) Wes Steidinger, (3) Billy Moyer, (4) Brady Smith, (5) Junior Shickel, (6) Jason Feger, (7) Darren Miller, (8) Shannon Babb, (9) Richie Hedrick, (10) Darin Friedman, (11) Scott Bull, (12) Chris Dick, (13) Tim Lance, (14) Rocky Griffin, (15) Derek Chandler, (16) Russ Adams, (17) Donny Walden, (18) Joe Harlan, (19) Ryan Dauber, (20) Lisa Shickel, (21) Eric Smith.

Burgtorf dominates hometown track

QUINCY, Ill. (Sept. 2) — Mark Burgtorf led a strong showing by home-track drivers at the Deery Brothers Summer Series feature at Quincy Raceway, while Jeremy Grady gave himself a little more breathing room in the race for the series crown. Burgtorf led all 50 laps in scoring the $2,000 victory. Jason Frankel was the runner-up in his first series feature appearance in more than a decade, while fellow locals Kevin Tomlinson and Justin Reed rounded out the top four. Grady ran fifth, six spots ahead of Darrel DeFrance, to increase his points lead to nine. — From series reports

Quincy: (1) Mark Burgtorf, (2) Jason Frankel, (3) Kevin Tomlinson, (4) Justin Reed, (5) Jeremy Grady, (6) Jerry Weisenberger, (7) Lonnie Bailey, (8) Terry Neal, (9) Terry Gallaher, (10) Jason Perry, (11) Darrel DeFrance, (12) Billy Genenbacher, (13) Boone McLaughlin, (14) Tom Darbyshire, (15) Kelly Tapper, (16) Jon Merfeld, (17) Luke Goedert, (18) Jason Hahne, (19) Charlie McKenna, (20) Brian Kenning, (21) Gary Russell, (22) Andy Nezworski, (23) Joey Gower, (24) Nick Ingalls.

Comer gets first-ever Show-Me Series victory

WEST PLAINS, Mo. (Sept. 1) — Chuck Comer of Joplin, Mo., turned back a late-race challenge from series points leader Leslie Essary at West Plains Motor Speedway to complete his first-ever Show-Me Racin' Series victory. Comer started on the front row with Roger Wilson and led all the way. Essary was second followed by Kenny Hartwigsen, Rick Wallis and Rick Lebow. Wilson ended up ninth. — Clarissa Essary

West Plains Motor Speedway: (1) Chuck Comer, (2) Leslie Essary, (3) Kenny Hartwigsen, (4) Rick Wallis, (5) Rick Lebow, (6) Chris Powell, (7) Conner Ward, (8) Ken Essary, (9) Roger Wilson, (10) Jim Fulp, (11) Jeremy Kelley, (12) Jarrod Hilton, (13) Justin Asplin, (14) Kevin Henson, (15) Darrin Barton, (16) Mike Madison, (17) Tyler Milner, (18) Jimmy Bellamy, (19) Ken Patterson, (20) Frank Tindle, (21) Ron Johnson, (22) Don Cloyd.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728