Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1082
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Arizona Motorplex

Whitwell sweeps Tucson, enjoys $7,500 weekend

December 2, 2013, 6:43 am
From series reports
R.C. Whitwell's mom joined him after Sunday's win. (photofinishphotos.com)
R.C. Whitwell's mom joined him after Sunday's win. (photofinishphotos.com)

TUCSON, Ariz. (Nov. 30-Dec. 1) — Hometown driver R.C. Whitwell swept the Carl Trimmer Classic on Thanksgiving weekend, earning victories worth $2,500 and $5,000 on the Championship Dirt Motorsports tour.

Whitwell wrapped up the CDM championship in outrunning Garrett Alberson of Las Cruces, N.M., on Saturday and Pat Doar of New Richmond, Wis., on Sunday. In Saturday’s event, Mike Balcaen, Doar and Clay Daly rounded out the top five while Daly, Joey Moriarty and Lonnie Parker Jr. finished third through fifth in Sunday’s finale.

Whitwell finished the season with a CDM-best six victories, four of them at Tucson.

Notes: Whitwell drove a Jeff Manka-owned Rocket Chassis sponsored by Affordable Powder Coating, MDM Accenting Services and Site Lite Mag Laser. … Whitwell was also CDM’s Rookie of the Year. … Entrants who didn’t qualify for either weekend feature: Bill Archibald, Nita Deetz, Walton Kyle and Wes Hall.

Nov. 30: (1) R.C. Whitwell, (2) Garrett Alberson, (3) Mike Balcaen, (4) Pat Doar, (5) Clay Daly, (6) Lonnie Parker Jr., (7) Don Shaw, (8) Dean Moore, (9) Nick Bartels, (10) Brad Williams, (11) Rob Mayea, (12) Bud Grossenbacher, (13) Dave Deetz, (14) Sean Bray, (15) James Laing, (16) Joey Moriarty, (17) Steve Francis Jr., (18) Greg Jelvik, (19) Fito Gallardo, (20) Jake O’Neil.

Dec. 1: (1) R.C. Whitwell, (2) Pat Doar, (3) Clay Daly, (4) Joey Moriarty, (5) Lonnie Parker Jr., (6) Fito Gallardo, (7) Dean Moore, (8) Garrett Alberson, (9) Brad Williams, (10) Nick Bartels, (11) James Laing, (12) Steve Francis Jr., (13) Rob Mayea, (14) Sean Bray, (15) Rick Ortega, (16) Dave Deetz, (17) Dana Fite, (18) Bucky Andrews, (19) Bill Bartels, (20) Terry Belcher Sr.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728