Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Skyline Speedway

McGuire denies Carrier third straight at Skyline

May 31, 2008, 11:32 am
By Scott Wolfe
Skyline Speedway
Josh McGuire emerges triumphant. (R.A. Smith)
Josh McGuire emerges triumphant. (R.A. Smith)

STEWART, Ohio (May 30) — Overtaking Eddie Carrier Jr. on the 40th lap, 10th-starting Josh McGuire of Grayson, Ky., led the rest of the 50-lap Independent Racing Series event at Skyline Speedway to snap Carrier's two-race IRS win streak. McGuire, who won a Mid-Atlantic Championship Series event at Skyline a year and five days earlier, pocketed $5,000 for his first career IRS triumph.

Robbie Blair of Titusville, Pa., dropped Carrier, of Salt Rock, W.Va., to third in the final laps while Duane Chamberlain of Richmond, Ind., was fourth for his second consecutive top-five finish on the IRS tour. Dave Hess Jr. of Waterford, Pa., rounded out the top five.

The high-running Carrier was in control from the outset, but Steve Shaver of Vienna, W.Va., and then R.J. Conley, beginning on the 19th lap, began hounding the polesitter. Further back, McGuire was working his way into contention before a lap-27 scramble that involved Conley, dropping him from contention. McGuire was up to second following a lap-38 caution and found moisture in the low groove to work under Carrier with 10 laps remaining for a lead he'd never give up.

Notes: McGuire's winning GCP-powered Rayburn Race Car is sponsored by D.J.'s Kitchen Corner and D&C Salyers Construction. ... The winner's uncle, Wayne McGuire, won in his first visit to Skyline nearly 45 years ago, a feat matched by Josh in 2006. ... Reigning IRS champion Rick Aukland, who finished 23rd in the Late Model feature, won the modified feature at Skyline. ... Among drivers failing to make the Late Model feature: Tracy Fritter, Jeff Burdette, Dan Morrison, Ron Mayle and Ralph Withem. ... IRS competitors are scheduled for a Saturday night event at Sharon Speedway in Hartford, Ohio.

IRS @ Skyline: (1) Josh McGuire, (2) Robbie Blair, (3) Eddie Carrier Jr., (4) Duane Chamberlain, (5) Dave Hess Jr., (6) Steve Shaver, (7) Donnie Moran, (8) Tim Dohm, (9) Mike Balzano, (10) Paul Wilmoth Jr., (11) Andy Bond, (12) Larry Bond, (13) R.J. Conley, (14) Jeff Wood, (15) Tyler Carpenter, (16) Devin Friese, (17) Rod Conley, (18) Steve Wilmoth, (19) Jared Hawkins, (20) Audie Swartz, (21) Chris Garnes, (22) Mike Knight, (23) Rick Aukland, (24) Dustin Hendricks. Fast qualifier (among 38 cars): R.J. Conley, 12.82 seconds. Heat race winners: Knight, Blair, Chamberlain, Carrier. Dash winner: Carrier. Consolation winners: Hawkins, Carpenter.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728