Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 605
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

West Liberty Raceway

Chris Simpson, Denny Eckrich cash in at Liberty 100

October 13, 2013, 6:41 am
From correspondent reports
Chris Simpson heads to victory. (mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com)
Chris Simpson heads to victory. (mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com)

WEST LIBERTY, Iowa (Oct. 12) — Home-state drivers Chris Simpson of Oxford and Denny Eckrich of Tiffin picked up $3,500 apiece Saturday at West Liberty Raceway’s season-ending Liberty 100. Simpson won the 50-lap main event for open-competition engine Late Models while Eckrich topped the feature for the spec-engine Late Model cars. | Slideshow

In the open-competition event, Jason Utter of Columbus Junction, Iowa, chased Simpson to the checkers while Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, the winner’s brothers, was third. Justin Kay of Wheatland, Iowa, and Denny Eckrich rounded out the top five.

In the spec-engine event for IMCA-rules entries, Eckrich took the checkers ahead of Chad Simpson and Jeff Aikey of Cedar Falls, Iowa. Ryan Dolan and Kyle Hinrichs rounded out the top five.

Notes: Simpson’s MB Customs chassis has a Pro Power Racing Engine and sponsorship from GearWrench, Five Star Shop Service, Advanced Machine & Tool, Christner Concrete and King Farms. ... Denny Eckrich’s Barry Wright Race Car has a Grove Automotive engine and sponsorship from Mac Tools and Precision Performance. ... Chris Simpson’s victory came one week after he captured the Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association finale at Lakeside Speedway in Kansas City, Kan. ... The two-day event drew 150 race cars overall. ... In Friday's action, Chad Simpson (open-competition) and Andy Eckrich (spec engine) earned $1,000 apiece for Race of Champions victories. ... The event wraps up the season’s Late Model racing for the Simmons Promotions tracks of eastern Iowa; Farley Speedway’s Little Guy Nationals on Oct. 19 won’t include the top-flight division.

Liberty 100 (open-competition engine): (1) Chris Simpson, (2) Jason Utter, (3) Chad Simpson, (4) Justin Kay, (5) Denny Eckrich, (6) Spencer Diercks, (7) Scott Schmitt, (8) Darrel DeFrance, (9) Dave Eckrich, (10) Joel Callahan (complete finish unavailable). Heat race winners (among 18 cars): Denny Eckrich, Kay, Chad Simpson. Race of Champions winner: Chad Simpson.

Liberty 100 (spec-engine): (1) Denny Eckrich, (2) Chad Simpson, (3) Jeff Aikey, (4) Ryan Dolan, (5) Kyle Hinrichs, (6) Brian Harris, (7) Tommy Elston, (8) Spencer Diercks, (9) Nate Beuseling, (10) Joel Callahan (complete finish unavailable). Heat race winners (among 33 cars): Chad Simpson, Aikey, Dolan, Denny Eckrich. Race of Champions winner: Andy Eckrich.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728