Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 605
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Tri-County Racetrack

Roberts claims second Tar Heel 50 victory

October 5, 2013, 6:36 am
From track reports
Casey Roberts (101) turns back Shane Clanton on his way to victory. (binghamfreelance.com)
Casey Roberts (101) turns back Shane Clanton on his way to victory. (binghamfreelance.com)

BRASSTOWN, N.C. (Oct. 4) — Casey Roberts of Toccoa, Ga., became the first repeat winner of the Tar Heel 50 at Ray Cook’s Tri-County Racetrack, earning $4,053 after winning the 10th annual running of the unsanctioned special event from the outside pole. | Slideshow

Roberts, who also won the event in 2011, was followed at the finish by sixth-starting Billy Ogle Jr. of Knoxville, Tenn., while Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series regular Don O’Neal of Martinsville, Ind., was third. Brent Dixon of Elberton, Ga., and Clint Smith of Senoia, Ga., rounded out the top five.

Notes: Roberts drives a Jimmy and Ann Cushman-owned Capital Race Car powered by a Custom Race Engine and sponsored by Starrette Trucking, Cushman Paint & Body, Schaeffer Oil, M&S Concrete, VP Race Fuels and Hoosier Racing Tire. ... Roberts, the Ultimate Super Late Model Series points leader, earned his eighth victory of the season paying $4,000 or more. ... Fast qualifier and polesitter Shane Clanton of Zebulon, Ga., was 20th in the final rundown. ... Defending race winner David Payne finished seventh. ... The event served as Tri-County's season finale for Late Models. ... Roberts also won April 12's Spring Nationals event at the Ray Cook-promoted oval.

Tar Heel 50: (1) Casey Roberts, (2) Billy Ogle Jr., (3) Don O'Neal, (4) Brent Dixon, (5) Clint Smith, (6) Jamie Oliver, (7) David Payne, (8) Justin Ratliff, (9) Joe Armistead Jr., (10) Kenny Collins, (11) Kurt English, (12) Preston Graves, (13) Gabe Wilson, (14) Brian Reese, (15) Jason Welshan, (16) Jacob Grizzle, (17) Johnny Chastain, (18) Glenn Barnett, (19) George Mashburn, (20) Shane Clanton, (21) Devon Dilbeck. Fast qualifier (among 23 cars): Clanton, 12.438 seconds. Consolation winners: Smith, Reese.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728