Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Boone County Raceway

Boone puts Darbyshire atop Deery Bros. points

May 27, 2008, 7:59 am
From series reports
Tom Darbyshire took the series points lead. (Barry Johnson)
Tom Darbyshire took the series points lead. (Barry Johnson)

BOONE, Iowa (May 26) — An impressive Memorial Day run at Boone Speedway put Tom Darbyshire in the winner’s circle and atop the Deery Brothers Summer Series point standings. The driver from Morning Sun, Iowa, led all the way in Monday’s IMCA-sanctioned main event, keeping Justin Reed of Quincy, Ill., in check after a caution late in the contest brought the 40-lapper to a close green-white-checkered finish. | Slideshow

Home-state drivers Charlie McKenna of Clear Lake, Terry Neal of Ely and Todd Cooney of Des Moines rounded out the top five. Darbyshire's $2,000 victory also gave Darbyshire a two point edge over Cooney in the tour standings after six of 17 scheduled events.

Dale Hackwell Jr. drew the pole and applied the early pressure on Darbyshire, who charged ahead from outside the front row Reed, fresh off his May 21 victory at Highway 3 Raceway, moved up from eighth to mount a challenge of his own before McKenna drove into second. Reed regained the position two laps later, staying within shouting distance of Darbyshire while McKenna, Neal and the 16th-starting Cooney ran hard close behind. The late yellow bunched the field back up, but Darbyshire stayed in the fast line to take the checkers two lengths ahead of Reed.

Notes: Darbyshire's MasterSbilt is sponsored by Darbyshire Trucking and Ideal Ready Mix. ... Darbyshire's victory broke a streak of four consecutive first-time series winners. He has one previous victory at Lee County Speedway in Donnellson, Iowa, in 2005. ... Deery Brothers competitors next heads to Marshalltown (Iowa) Speedway on June 10.

Deery Brothers @ Boone: (1) Tom Darbyshire, (2) Justin Reed, (3) Charlie McKenna, (4) Terry Neal, (5) Todd Cooney, (6) Jason Hahne, (7) Ray Guss Jr., (8) Dale Hackwell Jr., (9) Darrel DeFrance, (10) T.J. Criss, (11) Boone McLaughlin, (12) Al Johnson, (13) Jason Frankel, (14) Mike Garland, (15) Luke Goedert, (16) Andy Nezworski, (17) Bryan Klein, (18) Joe Zrostlik, (19) Craig Roberts, (20) Clint Wendel, (21) Josh Most, (22) Mike Klinkkammer, (23) Mitch Current, (24) Jeff Aikey. Heat race winners: Hackwell, Goedert, Guss, DeFrance. Consolation winners: Frankel, Klein.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728