Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1092
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Belleville High Banks

Junghans wins NCRA at Belleville High Banks

September 2, 2013, 9:54 am
National Championship Racing Association

BELLEVILLE, Kan. (Sept. 1) — Chase Junghans of Manhattan, Kan., made the trip to the Belleville High Banks a victorious one as he wired the field in claiming a $2,000 victory in Sunday's event for the National Championship Racing Association presented by Precise Racing Products.

Junghans started on the pole for the 15-lap feature and outran fellow front-row starter Mike Wiarda of Aurora, Neb., into turn one to take the lead. He quickly opened a 10-car length lead after the first lap.

Lapped traffic came into play on lap six, allowing Jimmy Segraves of Wichita, Kan., to cut the deficit to six car lengths. But the night’s first caution flag waved one lap later when Gary Gorby of Caney, Kan., loss a tire in turn three and came to a stop at the bottom of the speedway.

On the restart, it was Junghans out front with Wiarda alongside on the double-file formation. But Junghans once again throttled away to keep the lead.

Current tour point leader and G&G Dozer Rookie of the Year leader Jacob Magee of Caney, Kan.,who restarted fourth, was looking to challenge Wiarda for the runner-up position, but his night came to an end when his motor expired on lap nine.

The race stayed green as Magee was able to exit the track, only to see the final caution fall remaining when Bryce Taylor cut a tire and rode against the guardrail entering turns one and two with five laps.

Even with the restart, there was no catching the leader as Junghans cruised to his first tour victory of the season and second of his career. Wiarda finished 10 car lengths behind in second with Segraves finished third and gained ground in the championship point’s chase. Rookie contender Jeremy Petty advanced from the 10th starting spot to finish fourth with Scott Phillips rounding out the top five.

The next and final 2013 event for the NCRA Late Models is set for Sept. 20-21 as the tour heads to the Salina High (Okla.) Banks for a co-sanctioned event with the MARS DIRTcar series.

NCRA @ Belleville: (1) Chase Junghans, (2) Mike Wiarda, (3) Jimmy Segraves, (4) Jeremy Petty, (5) Scott Phillips, (6) Darrick Klima, (7) Duston Bufort, (8) Kurt Abell, (9) Chris Avery, (10) Wylan Petrie, (11) Bryce Taylor, (12) Jacob Magee, (13) Brad Wagoner, (14) Gary Gorby, (15) Jum Melton. Heat winners (among 15 cars): Junghans, Segraves.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728