Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Maquoketa Speedway

Chad Simpson completes weekend sweep

August 11, 2013, 7:34 am
From series reports
Chad Simpson gets a high five after his Corn Belt Clash victory. (mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com)
Chad Simpson gets a high five after his Corn Belt Clash victory. (mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com)

MAQUOKETA, Iowa (Aug. 10) — Series points leader Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, continued his bid for a fourth straight Corn Belt Clash championship with his fifth series victory of the season Saturday night at Jackson County Speedway, earning $3,000 in completing a sweep of the tour’s doubleheader weekend.

Simpson backed up his victory in Friday night’s race at Fayette County Speedway in West Union, Iowa, in topping Justin Kay of Wheatland, Iowa, who advanced from 10th to finish second in Saturday’s 30-lap main event. | Slideshow

Jake Meier of Tipton, Iowa, repeated his performance from Friday night, by starting and finishing third in Saturday’s 30-lap race. Denny Eckrich of Tiffin, Iowa, also repeated his Friday night finish in fourth, while Chris Simpson of Oxford, Iowa, Friday’s runner-up and younger brother of the race winner, rounded out the top five.

Notes: Chad Simpson’s Bud and Denise Brinkman-owned MasterSbilt by Huey is powered by a Jay Dickens Racing Engine and with sponsorship from Liebe Trucking, GATR Truck Center, Farm Bureau Financial Services and Graves Oil. ... Simpson earned the 25th series victory of his career. ... The 30-lap feature took just under 25 minutes to complete. ... Chris Simpson won last year's stop at Jackson County. ... The Iowa-based tour wraps up its 2013 campaign with an Aug. 13-14 doubleheader at Marshalltown (Iowa) Speedway and Cedar County Raceway in Tipton, Iowa.

Corn Belt Clash @ Jackson County: (1) Chad Simpson, (2) Justin Kay, (3) Jake Meier, (4) Denny Eckrich, (5) Chris Simpson, (6) Jason Jaggers, (7) Matt Ryan, (8) Dave Eckrich, (9) Terry Neal, (10) Rick Wendling, (11) Pete Parker, (12) Matt Furman, (13) Justin Mitchell, (14) Brad Stewart, (15) Mike Fryer, (16) Greg Wagner, (17) Wayne Brau, (18) Marty Sheckek, (19) Todd Alexander, (20) Lyle Zanker, (21) Stephan Kammerer, (22) Jon Rogers, (23) Brian Beaudry. Heat winners (among 23 cars): Denny Eckrich, Dave Eckrich, Meier.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728