Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1082
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

North Central Arkansas Speedway

Moyer Jr. ends skid with Comp Cams victory

August 3, 2013, 6:34 am
From series reports

FLIPPIN, Ark. (Aug. 2) — Ending a year-long winless streak, former series champion Billy Moyer Jr. of Batesville, Ark., led every lap of Friday night’s Comp Cams Super Dirt Series event at North Central Arkansas Speedway to earn $2,000 in the tour’s first-ever visit to the 3/8-mile oval.

Moyer, the 2010 series champion and now a regular on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, started from the pole of Friday’s 35-lapper and grabbed the lead over second-starting Hunter Durham as the race went green.

That would prove to be as close as anyone got to Moyer as he motored away from the pack and was never seriously challenged throughout the caution-free event. Moyer scored the 11th Comp Cams Series victory of his career and his first main event victory of any kind since July 28, 2012.

Jesse Stovall of Galena, Mo., followed Moyer across the line in second with Jack Sullivan of Greenbrier, Ark., third. Series points leader Kyle Beard of Trumann, Ark., was fourth, while Durham slid back to fifth at the finish.

Moyer’s victory came in the first leg of a weekend doubleheader for the series. Action moves to I-30 Speedway in Little Rock, Ark., on Saturday for a $2,500-to-win event.

Notes: Moyer drives a Victory Circle Race Car from his father Billy Moyer’s shop with a Pro Power Engine and sponsorship from Henderson Motorsports, Sparks Motorsports, NXS Powerline, Banner Valley Hauling, Crop Production Services, Imperial Motors and Rockhard Powder Coating. ... Moyer’s most recent victory came with the Comp Cams Series in an event at NEA Speedway. ... The 35-lapper took just over ten minutes to complete. ... All drivers were locked in the main event through heats. ... Mason Oberkramer was scheduled to start on the pole of the second heat but retired for the evening after billowing smoke in hot laps.

Comp Cams @ North Central Arkansas: (1) Billy Moyer Jr., (2) Jesse Stovall, (3) Jack Sullivan, (4) Kyle Beard, (5) Hunter Durham, (6) Chandler Petty, (7) Ashley Newman, (8) Jon Kirby, (9) Brandon Smith, (10) Kody Mea, (11) Drew Armstrong, (12) Allen Murray, (13) Dusty Mooneyham, (14) Lynn Beach, (15) Kenneth Jackson, (16) Randall Griffin, (17) Keith Lawson, (18) Tim Prine, (19) Mason Oberkramer. Heat race winners (among 19 cars): Moyer, Durham, Stovall.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728