Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1010
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Raceway 7

Dohm outruns Shaver for Raceway 7 victory

May 24, 2008, 12:20 pm
By Jay Pees
Raceway 7
Tim Dohm (6T) gets past Steve Shaver (30). (Todd Battin)
Tim Dohm (6T) gets past Steve Shaver (30). (Todd Battin)

CONNEAUT, Ohio (May 23) — Third-starting Tim Dohm of Cross Lanes, W.Va., overtook front-row starter Steve Shaver of Vienna, W.Va., on the 32nd lap at Raceway 7 and led the remainder of the Independent Racing Series event at the 7/16-mile oval. Dohm collected $5,000 for his first victory on the series he plans to follow this season. | Slideshow

Jason Covert of York Haven, Pa., raced up to finish second followed by fast qualifier Donnie Moran of Dresden, Ohio. Shaver settled for fourth while Chub Frank of Bear Lake, Pa., was fifth. Polesitter Todd Andrews of Eldred, Pa., ran among the leaders early but departed on the 17th lap with apparent mechanical problems.

Shaver led from the outset with Dohm, Andrews, Ron Davies and Frank in pursuit. When Shaver and Dohm entered lapped traffic on the 27th lap, things tightened up and they crossed the start-finish line side by side on lap 30. Shaver nosed ahead on lap 31, but Dohm took control for good on the next lap.

Notes: The 47-year-old Dohm drivers a Rocket Chassis sponsored by Dohm Cycles. ... Cautions flew for Dutch Davies (got too high in turn two), Ryan Markham (spun into the turn-three fence on lap 41) and Tony Lombardi (stalled on lap 45). .... Donnie Moran's fast qualifying time of 17.103 seconds lowered the 2000 record of Randle Chupp (17.464 seconds). ... Among drivers failing to make the feature: Mickey Wright, Chad Ruhlman, Brent Rhebergen, Wally Fox, Josh McGuire, Bump Hedman and Matt Urban. ... Dick Barton won the night's Fastrak Crate feature for his second in a row in the division. ... IRS competitors continue Memorial Day weekend racing in Ohio at Muskingum County Speedway on May 24 and Cannonball Motor Speedway on May 25. Both events pay $5,000 to the winner.

IRS @ Raceway 7: (1) Tim Dohm, (2) Jason Covert, (3) Donnie Moran, (3) Steve Shaver, (4) Chub Frank, (5) Jeremy Miller, (6) Chris Hackett, (7) Ron Davies, (8) Boom Briggs, (9) Duane Chamberlain, (10) Mike Balzano. (11) Rick Aukland, (12) Dave Hess Jr., (13) Jared Hawkins, (14) Devin Friese, (15) Mike Knight, (16) Andy Bond, (17) Rob Blair, (18) Rod Conley, (19) Tony Lombardi, (20) Ryan Markham, (21) Dennis Lunger, (22) Todd Andrews, (23) Dutch Davies, (24) Bob Close. Fast qualifier (among 49 cars): Moran, 17.103 seconds. Heat race winners: Dohm, Hackett, Covert, Davies. Dash winner: Andrews. Consolation race winners: Bond, Friese.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728