Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Sabine Motor Speedway

First-timer Sitton edges Ashley in Many

May 24, 2008, 11:51 am
From series and correspondent reports
Kevin Sitton enjoys victory lane. (scottscustomart.com)
Kevin Sitton enjoys victory lane. (scottscustomart.com)

MANY, La. (May 23) — Following a series of first-time series winners at Sabine Motor Speedway, rookie Late Model driver Kevin Sitton of Baytown, Texas, fought off three-time series champion David Ashley for his first-ever O'Reilly Southern United Professional Racing victory. Sitton lost the lead to Ashley, of Zachary La., following a mid-race restart, but a caution negated Ashley's move and Sitton was able to repel Ashley's inside moves the rest of the 40-lapper for a $2,000 victory.

Ashley settled for second on a night when 32 cars filled the pits for SUPR's first visit to Many since 2003. Sixth-starting Kenny Merchant of West Monroe, La., finished third followed by Jody Prince of Sibley, La., and last week's SUPR winner Rob Litton of Alexandria, La. Sitton, a former modified driver moving into the Late Model ranks, became the fifth driver in the past 11 years to win his first-ever SUPR race at Many.

Notes: Sitton's No. 20 Rocket Chassis is sponsored by J.D.'s Body Works and Sitton Racing. ... Other first-time SUPR winners at Many: Bubba Mullins on July 3, 1997; Mark Andrews on Sept. 4, 1998; Dave Siegert on May 28, 1999; and James Ward on May 23, 2003. ... SUPR continues its three-race Memorial Day weekend with $2,500-to-win events at Champion Park Speedway in Haughton, La., on May 24 and Baton Rouge Raceway in Baker, La., on May 25.

O'Reilly SUPR @ Sabine: (1) Kevin Sitton, (2) David Ashley, (3) Kenny Merchant, (4) Jody Prince, (5) Rob Litton, (6) Ray Moore, (7) Jason Ingalls, (8) Gary Scott Christian, (9) Michael Coleman, (10) Jim Bryant, (11) Jon Mitchell, (12) Duke Whiseant, (13) Lee Davis, (14) Ronny Adams, (15) Patrik Daniel, (16) Ron Cavanaugh, (17) Nicholas Brown, (18) Brock Williams, (19) Jeff Chanler, (20) Waylon Morris, (21) Allen Tippen, (22) Jeff Gandy. Heat race winners (among 32 cars): Whiseant, Davis, Ashley, Sitton. Consolation winners: Brown, Mitchell.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728