Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1135
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Talladega Short Track

Thomas wins Talladega's Head Jr. Memorial

July 28, 2013, 7:49 am
From series reports
William Thomas won $4,000 at Talladega Short Track. (Heath Lawson)
William Thomas won $4,000 at Talladega Short Track. (Heath Lawson)

EASTABOGA, Ala. (July 27) — Third-starting William Thomas of Phenix City, Ala. rolled to his third career Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series victory Saturday night at Talladega Short Track, earning $4,000 in the 16th annual Michael Head Jr. Memorial. | Slideshow

Debuting a new GM 525 crate engine, Thomas led Southern All Stars rookie competitor Jason Hiett of Oxford, Ala., to the finish in claiming his second victory in the race honors the son of the 1991 series champion Mike Head.

Reigning series champion Randy Weaver of Crossville, Tenn., finished third, ending his personal four-race winning streak in Talladega’s Southern All Stars events.

Tim Roszell of Anniston, Ala., was fourth, while Riley Hickman of Ooltewah, Tenn., extended his lead in the series standings with a fifth-place finish. Hickman’s closest points challenger, Mike Weeks of Friendsville, Tenn., finished 18th.

Notes: The winning GRT Race Car's sponsors include J.W. Miller Land and Timber, Alexanders Industrial Services, LKS, Austin Trucking, Valken Racing and Stealth Carburetors. ... The SAS tour made its 85th overall appearance at Talladega. ... Up next for the series is an Aug. 3 visit to Volunteer Speedway in Bulls Gap, Tenn.

Michael Head Jr. Memorial. (1) William Thomas, (2) Jason Hiett, (3) Randy Weaver, (4) Tim Roszell, (5) Riley Hickman, (6) Dylan Ames, (7) Tim Busha, (8) Logan Yates, (9) Adam Martin, (10) Bret Holmes, (11) Ross Martin, (12) Aaron Ridley, (13) Skylar Marlar, (14) Chris Wilson, (15) Danny Peoples, (16) T.J. Alford, (17) Terry Smith, (18) Mike Weeks, (19) Mark Rosner, (20) Carlton Freeman, (21) Skip Freeman, (22) Dennis Reno, (23) Jake Knowles, (24) Jason Wilson. Fast qualifier (among 26 cars): Weaver, 13.937 seconds. Consolation race winners: Busha, Holmes.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728