Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Springfield Raceway

Stovall tops Jackson for Springfield victory

July 26, 2013, 6:25 am
From series and other reports
Winner Jesse Stovall (00) works on Tony Jackson Jr. (56) at Springfield. (Ron Mitchell)
Winner Jesse Stovall (00) works on Tony Jackson Jr. (56) at Springfield. (Ron Mitchell)

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. (July 25) — Reigning series champion Jesse Stovall of Galena, Mo., won a battle with series points leader Tony Jackson Jr. of Lebanon, Mo., on Thursday at Springfield Raceway for a $3,000 victory on the MARS DIRTcar Series. | Slideshow

Stovall overtook Jackson on the 11th lap in the Summer Perry Memorial for his second victory of the season and second in the last three series events.

Jackson crossed the line second in the 40-lapper followed by fellow front-row starter and Lebanon driver Brandon McCormick, while consolation race winner Eric Turner of Springfield rallied to finish fourth.

The event honored the late daughter of former track owners Brenda and Mark Perry. The schoolteacher and former Miss I-44 Speedway was killed in a 2009 automobile accident.

Notes: Stovall drove a Steve Rushin-owned car to victory. The No. 00 is sponsored by Swafford’s Service, Rushin Towing and Hendrick Buick-GMC-Cadillac. ... Stovall has 14 career MARS victories. ... Stovall, who scored his third victory overall in 2013, last won on the MARS circuit July 5 at West Siloam Speedway in Siloam Springs, Okla. ... Justin Asplin of Birch Tree, Mo., won a heat race, but he scratched from the feature with mechanical problems. ... Chuck Comer of Joplin, Mo., had a rollover accident in hot laps; no injuries were reported. ... The event supported the local Courage After Silence organization founded by Carrie Watkins. The organization provides hope and healing to domestic violence victims and people that have suffered abuse in the military from southwest Missouri. ... MARS competitors return to action Aug. 9-10 at Junction Motor Speedway in McCool Junction, Neb., for the King of the Hill Classic.

Summer Perry Memorial: (1) Jesse Stovall, (2) Tony Jackson Jr., (3) Brandon McCormick, (4) Eric Turner, (5) Justin Wells, (6) Dustin Mooneyham, (7) Gary Christian (8) Jacob Magee, (9) Ken Essary, (10) Garrett Essary, (11) Coleman Younger, (12) Cole Wells, (13) Dustin Walker, (14) Leroy Johnson, (15) Steve Johnson, (16) Dave Ware, (17) Scott Fry, (18) Payton Looney, (19) Jeremy Kelley, (20) Brandon Morton, (21) Larry Jones, (22) Patrick Johnson. Heat race winners (among 25 cars): Jackson, McCormick, Asplin, Wells. Consolation winner: Turner.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728