Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Elkins Raceway

Hawkins collects $5,000 in Jim Hitt Memorial

July 21, 2013, 4:46 pm
From contributor reports
Jared Hawkins shows off his paycheck. (Tommy Michaels)
Jared Hawkins shows off his paycheck. (Tommy Michaels)

KERENS, W.Va. (July 19) — Fourth-starting Jared Hawkins of Fairmont, W.Va, raced to a $5,000 victory in Friday's third annual Jim Hitt Memorial at Elkins Raceway.

Hawkins dove under younger brother Jacob Hawkins, also of Fairmont, for the lead on the ninth lap and never looked back en route to his fifth victory of the season. | Slideshow

Dusty Hamrick of Clarksburg, W.Va., finished second after taking the spot from Jacob Hawkins, who slid back to third, with a lap-26 slide job. Seaford, Del., driver Austin Hubbard came forward from his 10th-place starting spot to cross the finish line fourth, while Davey Johnson of Latrobe, Pa., completed the top five in a caution-free affair.

Notes:Jared Hawkins drives a Rocket Chassis sponsored by J.C.. Distributing, Melvin’s Automatic Transmission Service, Rick Sturms Motorsports, Bobby Lake Motorsports, American Fence and Gwynn Tire. ... His previous victory came July 13 in the Southern 50 at Southern Ohio Speedway in Wheelersburg, Ohio. ... Track points leader Tim Senic of Elkins, W.Va., was sixth in the main event. ... Johnson pocketed $180 for setting fast time. ... 13th-finishing Paul Wilmoth Jr. of Clarksburg, W.Va., triumphed in Saturday's Richard Skidmore Memorial at Elkins.

Jim Hitt Memorial: (1) Jared Hawkins, (2) Dusty Hamrick, (3) Jacob Hawkins, (4) Austin Hubbard, (5) Davey Johnson, (6) Tim Senic, (7) Mason Zeigler, (8) Chris Ferguson, (9) Billy Holbert, (10) Derek Doll, (11) Butch McGill, (12) Chuck Harper, (13) Paul Wilmoth Jr., (14) Shane Hitt, (15) Bryan Casey, (16) Jamie McCloud, (17) Mike Benedum, (18), David Watts, (19) Skip Hare, (20) Bob Gordon, (21) Charlie George, (22) Robbie Scott, (23) Wayne Hughes, (24) Ricky Williams, (25) Zack Dohm. Fast qualifier (among 25 cars): Johnson, 15.22 seconds. Dash winner: Hitt. Consolation race winners: Doll, Hubbard.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728