Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1031
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Richmond Raceway

Jewell collects ninth Butterball victory at Richmond

July 21, 2013, 9:31 am
From contributor reports
Mike Jewell visits victory lane again at Richmond. (Jimmy Pittman)
Mike Jewell visits victory lane again at Richmond. (Jimmy Pittman)

RICHMOND, Ky. (July 20) — At Saturday’s Paul “Butterball” Wooldridge Memorial, No. 9 got No. 9.

Fast qualifier and former track champion Mike Jewell of Scottsburg, Ind., fought off a late challenge from Jason Jameson of Lawrenceburg, Ind., on the final lap Saturday at Richmond Raceway to capture one of Kentucky’s most popular Dirt Late Model events for the ninth time.

Jewell, Jameson and runner-up Tyrel Todd of Eubank, Ky., made contact on the last lap with Jewell surviving for a $7,500 payday at the 3/8-mile oval just southeast of Lexington.

Jameson settled for third with a banged-up race car on a night when 26 racers entered to honor for a late central Kentucky racer.

Butterball Wooldridge Memorial: (1) Mike Jewell, (2) Tyrel Todd, (3) Jason Jameson, (4) Jeff Watson, (5) Aaron Hatton, (6) Derek Fisher, (7) Victor Lee, (8) Josh McGuire, (9) Jason Barrett, (10) Michael Chilton, (11) Dustin Neat, (12) Dennis Roberson, (13) Tommy Bailey, (14) Todd Coffman, (15) Steve Casebolt, (16) Bartley Grant, (17) Greg Johnson, (18) Richard Musick (19) Tim Tungate, (20) Buzz Williams. Fast qualifier (among 26 cars): Jewell. Heat race winners: Jewell, Watson, Johnson. Consolation winner: D. Neat.

Correction: Fixes Todd, Jameson finishing positions.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728