Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

I-80 Speedway

Feger lands the pole for Silver Dollar Nationals

July 20, 2013, 2:49 am
From series and staff reports
Jason Feger (25) was a heat winner on Friday. (Todd Boyd)
Jason Feger (25) was a heat winner on Friday. (Todd Boyd)

GREENWOOD, Neb. (July 19) — Entering a busy week without a Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series victory, Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ind., will now be aiming for his second straight victory on the national tour after earning the pole position for I-80 Speedway’s third annual Silver Dollar Nationals. | Order pay-per-view | Video | Slideshow

Feger, one of 10 heat winners in the event’s unique preliminary format with two complete sets of heat races, had the most combined passing points in his heats to lock up the top starting spot for Saturday’s $27,000-to-win main event.

Starting third in his first-round heat, Feger cruised to a victory. He backed that up with a ninth-to-second charge in his second-round heat race as he completed a successful night in his debut at the 4/10-mile oval.

Feger will start alongside Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn., another heat winner, with Steve Francis of Ashland, Ky. — second in his last two series starts — in the second row alongside Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, Ill., the highest passing-points earner without winning a heat race.

The rest of the top 18 drivers in passing points locked into Saturday’s 80-lap feature are Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill.; last year’s race winner Brian Birkhofer of Muscatine, Iowa; Don O’Neal of Martinsville, Ind.; Chris Simpson of Oxford, Iowa; with Jared Landers of Batesville, Ark., and Travis Dickes of Madison, Neb., on the fifth row.

Filling out rows 6-9 are Tim Isenberg of Marshfield, Wis.; series points leader John Blankenship of Williamson, W.Va.; Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa; Tony Jackson Jr. of Lebanon, Mo.; Will Vaught of Crane, Mo.; Tyler Reddick of Corning, Calif.; Eddie Carrier Jr. of Salt Rock, W.Va.; and Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tenn.

Feger won his first-ever Lucas Oil Series feature Wednesday at Hamilton County Speedway in Webster City, Iowa.

Notes: The event is co-sanctioned by Lucas Oil’s sister series, the Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association. ... Mike Marlar of Winfield, Tenn., was the only heat winner not locked into the first nine rows of Saturday’s lineup; a logjam of seven drivers tied for 15th in passing points and he drew the highest number, putting him on the pole for the Saturday’s second consolation race. ... The other consy polesitter is Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo., the MLRA points leader. ... The top three finishers from each of two consolations will transfer to the main event. ... Provisionals from the Lucas Oil Series, MLRA and Nebraska-based Super Late Model Racing Series will be added to the starting field. ... The United States Modified Touring Series was also on Friday's card with Rodney Sanders winning the feature by one length over Jason Hughes.

Silver Dollar Nationals lineup

(Saturday's 80-lap main event)
Row 1: Jason Feger, Jimmy Owens
Row 2: Steve Francis, Dennis Erb Jr.
Row 3: Brian Shirley, Brian Birkhofer
Row 4: Don O’Neal, Chris Simpson
Row 5: Jared Landers, Travis Dickes
Row 6: Tim Isenberg, John Blankenship
Row 7: Chad Simpson, Tony Jackson Jr.
Row 8: Will Vaught, Tyler Reddick
Row 9: Eddie Carrier Jr., Scott Bloomquist
Row 10: Consolation transfers
Row 11: Consolation transfers
Row 12: Consolation transfers
Row 13: Provisional starters
Row 14: Provisional starters
Row 15: Provisional starters
Row 16: Provisional starters

Heat race results

First heat (round one): Chris Simpson, Dennis Erb Jr., Denny Eckrich, Tyler Reddick, Bill Leighton Jr., Jason Krohn, Brian Kenkekl, Chase Junghans, Craig Vosbergen, Jack Sullivan, Jason O’Brien.

Second heat (round one): Will Vaught, Jared Landers, Wendell Wallace, Brian Birkhofer, Justin Asplin, Tony Jackson Jr., John Anderson, Billy Moyer Jr., Al Humphrey, Corey Zeitner. Scratched: Robbie Andersen.

Third heat (round one): Tim Isenberg, Travis Dickes, Eddie Carrier Jr., Justin Gregg, Billy Moyer, Terry Phillips, Kevin Sather, Alonzo Gross, Billy Murphy, Jerry Lierly, Steve Kempt.

Fourth heat (round one): Steve Francis, Chad Simpson, Jimmy Owens, Don O'Neal, Ryan Gustin, Justin Zeitner, Jimmy Mars, Rodney Sanders, Jay Brunson, Scott Lewis, Bill Koons.

Fifth heat (round one): Jason Feger, Brian Shirley, Kyle Berck, Scott Bloomquist, John Blankenship, Mark Dotson, Mike Marlar, Tommy Weder Jr., Tad Pospisil, Earl Pearson Jr., Mike Colllins.

First heat (round two): Don O'Neal, John Blankenship, Billy Moyer, Scott Bloomquist, Eddie Carrier Jr., Jason Krohn, Wendell Wallace, Al Humphrey, Jay Brunson, Tad Pospisil. Scratched: Bill Leighton Jr.

Third heat (round two): Tony Jackson Jr., Jason Feger, Jared Landers, Tommy Weder Jr., Tim Isenberg, Denny Eckrich, Steve Kempt, Ryan Gustin, Jack Sullivan. Scratched: Kevin Sather, Justin Zeitner.

Fourth heat (round two): Mike Marlar, Jimmy Mars, Brian Shirley, Travis Dickes, Chad Simpson, Craig Vosbergen, John Anderson, Will Vaught, Brian Kenkel, Robbie Andersen.

Fifth heat (round two): Jimmy Owens, Dennis Erb Jr., Chase Junghans, Chris Simpson, Justin Gregg, Billy Moyer Jr., Justin Asplin, Scott Lewis, Mike Collins, Billy Murphy, Earl Pearson Jr.

Saturday’s consolation lineups

(Top three transfer)
First consolation
Row 1: Billy Moyer, Terry Phillips
Row 2: Jimmy Mars, Kyle Berck
Row 3: Chase Junghans, Justin Asplin
Row 4: Tommy Weder Jr., Rodney Sanders
Row 5: Craig Vosbergen, Brian Kenkel
Row 6: Scott Lewis, Steve Kempt
Row 7: Corey Zeitner, Alonzo Grosse
Row 8: Jack Sullivan, Mike Collins
Row 9: Kevin Sather, Justin Zeitner
Row 10: Jason O’Brien
Second consolation
Row 1: Mike Marlar, Justin Gregg
Row 2: Denny Eckrich, Wendell Wallace
Row 3: Mark Dotson, Jason Krohn
Row 4: Ryan Gustin, Billy Moyer Jr.
Row 5: John Anderson, Al Humphrey
Row 6: Jay Brunson, Tad Pospisil
Row 7: Bill Koons, Billy Murphy
Row 8: Jerry Lierly, Bill Leighton Jr.
Row 9: Earl Pearson Jr., Robbie Andersen

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728