Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1010
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Norman County Raceway

Schatz's penalty lifts Seng to NLRA victory

July 18, 2013, 11:27 pm
By Chris Stepan
DirtonDirt.com correspondent
Brad Seng earned $2,000 at Norman County. (Mike Spieker)
Brad Seng earned $2,000 at Norman County. (Mike Spieker)

ADA, Minn. (July 18) — Inheriting the lead when polesitter Donny Schatz was penalized in the final laps, Brad Seng of Grand Forks, N.D., raced to his second straight Northern LateModel Racing Association victory Thursday at Norman County Raceway. Seng pocketed $2,000.

Schatz, a five-time World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series champion dabbling in Late Models this season, dominated the 30-lap race but was sent to the tail when he spun a slower car to trigger a lap-28 caution.

Seng restarted out front and raced to his 20th career NLRA victory, holding off runner-up Dustin Strand of Grand Forks and Zach Johnson of Kensington, Minn. Bill Mooney of Selkirk, Manitoba, and Joey Pederson of Grand Forks, rounded out the top five finishers. Schatz, who spun ninth-running Steve Grabow while trying to put him a lap down, rallied back to finish ninth.

Seng, who won on the NLRA circuit June 30 at Emo (Ontario) Speedway, broke a tie with Mike Balcaen of Winnipeg, Manitoba, to become the second winningest all-time NLRA touring driver. The late John Seitz of Bemidji, Minn., is the tour’s winningest driver with 26 victories.

Notes: Seng’s MasterSbilt Race Car is sponsored by S&S Transport, Valley Oral and Facial Surgery, Nestle, Bergstrom Electric, Lawrence Bay Lodge and Smitty’s Transmission. ... Ninth-place finisher Donny Schatz was fresh off his fourth victory in the Don Martin Memorial Silver Cup at Lernerville Speedway. ... Jeremy Keller rallied from 17th to finish sixth. ... Josh Johnson tagged the frontstretch wall to draw a caution on the first lap. ... Drivers from Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota and Canada were on hand for the ninth of 16 events on the 2013 NLRA slate. ... The series returns to action Aug. 8 with its third and final visit to Norman County.

NLRA @ Norman County: (1) Brad Seng, (2) Dustin Strand, (3) Zach Johnson, (4) Bill Mooney, (5) Joey Pederson, (6) Jeremy Keller, (7) Tom Corcoran, (8) Steve Grabow, (9) Donny Schatz, (10) Brian Bernotas, (11) Michael, (12) Johnson, (13) Jason Grabow, (14) Steve Anderson, (15) Billy Machaelsohn, (16) Norman Olson, (17) Cary Eilers, (18) Jake Bitker, (19) Mike Balcaen, (20) Dewayne Rector, (21) Josh Johnson, (22) Cole Schill. Heat race winners (among 21 cars): Schatz, Strand, Seng.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728