Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Mid-Nebraska Speedway

Berck catches Segraves for Mid-Nebraska victory

July 14, 2013, 5:57 pm
From series reports
Kyle Berck (14) gets ready to move by Jimmy Segraves (3). (Jerry Jacobs)
Kyle Berck (14) gets ready to move by Jimmy Segraves (3). (Jerry Jacobs)

DONIPHAN, Neb. (July 13) — Two-time series champion Kyle Berck of Marquette, Neb., overtook mid-race leader Jimmy Segraves with 12 laps remaining to capture the Chuck Bosselman Memorial Late Model Nationals on the National Championship Racing Association. | Slideshow

Berck’s series victory was his first of the season and 26th of his NCRA career, tying second-place Al Purkey of Coffeyville, Kan., on the all-time list; Kelly Boen is the tour’s winningest driver with 59 victories.

Al Humphrey of Giltner, Neb., finished second followed by NCRA points leader Jacob Magee of Caney, Kan. Segraves, of Wichita, Kan., was fourth and Mike Wiarda of Aurora, Neb., rounded out the top five in the 30-lap feature.

Justin Gregg and Wade Cross started on the front row, but it was fourth-starting Bill Leighton Jr. taking the lead on the first lap after a faulty start. Leighton was chased by Segraves and Berck early in the race, with Segraves slipped past on the ninth lap and edging away.

Three slowdowns over a six-lap stretch, including a four-car pileup on the frontstretch that drew a red flag after a lap-17 restart, hampered the action, and Leighton restarted on the tail after pitting for mechanical problems.

That put Berck on the rear bumper of Segraves for the restart, and went past on the 19th lap and led the rest of the way.

Notes: Berck’s No. 14 is sponsored by Aurora Agronomy, Strobel Construction and Swartz Race Cars. ... Berck won the event for the fourth time. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Rob Leonard, Ty Leonard, Bryce Taylor, E.J. Flynn, Chris Avery, Lester Duncan, Junior Coover, J.J. Rodeman, Jeremy Petty and Gary Gorby. ... NCRA competitors return to action Aug. 9-10 at Junction Motor Speedway in McCool Junction, Neb., for the King of the Hill Nationals co-sanctioned by MARS and MLRA.

Chuck Bosselman Memorial: (1) Kyle Berck, (2) Al Humphrey, (3) Jacob McGee, (4) Jimmy Segraves, (5) Mike Wiarda, (6) Justin Gregg, (7) Josh Leonard, (8) Bill Leighton Jr., (9) Billy Murphy, (10) Brad Wagoner, (11) Dustin Duncan, (12) Brian Renkel, (13) Gale Vogt, (14) Steve Kempt, (15) Ben Dunlap, (16) Corey Zeitner, (17) Andy Gregg, (18) Wade Cross, (19) Kevin Safranek, (20) Les Siebert. Heat race winners (among 31 cars): Berck, J. Gregg, Leighton. Consolation winner: Murphy.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728