Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1031
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Old No. 1 Speedway

Mitchell cruises to $2,500 at Northeast Arkansas

July 14, 2013, 6:01 am
From series reports
Jon Mitchell picked up $2,500 for his victory. (Woody Hampton)
Jon Mitchell picked up $2,500 for his victory. (Woody Hampton)

HARRISBURG, Ark. (July 13) — Reigning series champion Jon Mitchell of Texarkana, Texas, led all the way Saturday at Northeast Arkansas Speedway for his first Comp Cams Super Dirt Series of the season and fourth of his career. | Slideshow

The pole-starting Mitchell earned $2,500 for capturing the opening round of the tour’s Stallion Transportation Group Summer Series. Jon Kirby of Russellville, Ark., was second in the 35-lapper followed by Kyle Beard of Trumann, Ark., 14th-starting Justin Asplin of Birch Tree, Mo., and Tommy Surrett of North Little Rock, Ark.

Ross Camponovo of Clarksville, Miss., who entered the race leading the series points, tangled with Dane Dacus of Arlington, Tenn., while battling for second onlap 23. They both retired.

Notes: Mitchell’s MasterSbilt Race Car is sponsored by W&W Timber, Keyser Mfg., Base Fuel, Kustom Graphics, J&J Motorsports and Integra Racing Shocks. ... Mitchell’s previous series victory came June 23, 2012, at 67 Speedway in Texarkana, Ark. ... He won last year’s title by virtue of a tiebreaker over Brandon Smith of Flora, Ark. ... Smith and Robert Baker made contact while battling for a top-five position in Saturday’s feature; the skirmish ended with a caution and Baker was black-flagged. ... The Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger $100 bonus was claimed by Ashley Newman for his 15th-to-sixth run. ... Drivers failing to make the feature: Ian Samuals, Greg Clemons, Robert Lovette. ... Jack Sullivan won Friday's Comp Cams event at Batesville (Ark.) Motor Speedway, but he skipped Saturday’s event. ... The Comp Cams tour takes a week off before a July 26-27 doubleheader at Timberline Speedway in Corley, Texas, and Diamond Park Speedway in Nashville, Ark.

Comp Cams @ Northeast Arkansas: (1) Jon Mitchell, (2) Jon Kirby, (3) Kyle Beard, (4) Justin Asplin, (5) Tommy Surrett, (6) Ashley Newman, (7) Thomas Dacus, (8) Clay Fisher, (9) Chandler Petty, (10) Mason Oberkramer, (11) Kody Mea, (12) Tyler Erb, (13) Joseph Long, (14) Austin Rettig, (15) Lynn Beach, (16) Brandon Smith, (17) Dane Dacus, (18) Ross Camponovo, (19) Jeff Floyd. Disqualified: Robert Baker. Heat race winners (among 23 cars): Mitchell, Dacus, Smith. Consolation winner: Newman.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728