Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1031
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Mount Pleasant Speedway

Spangler picks up $1,500 at Mount Pleasant

July 13, 2013, 5:32 am
From contributor and track reports
Eric Spangler (27) outran Rich Neiser (87) at Mount Pleasant. (Steve Datema)
Eric Spangler (27) outran Rich Neiser (87) at Mount Pleasant. (Steve Datema)

MOUNT PLEASANT, Mich. (July 12) — Eric Spangler of Lake City, Mich., fought off challenges, then maneuvered through lapped traffic to pull away Friday at Mount Pleasant Speeway for his first Allstar Performance Michigan Dirt Cup victory of the season and second of his career. He earned $1,500. | Slideshow

Rich Neiser of Fruitport, Mich., and Brian Ruhlman of Clarklake, Mich., both took cracks at Spangler with Neiser settling for second and series points leader J.R. Hotovy of Covert, Mich., rallying to finish third. Ruhlman was fourth and Dona Marcoullier of Houghton Lake, Mich., rounded out the top five.

Notes: Spangler’s MasterSbilt Race Car is sponsored by Spangler Heating and Cooling, Mark. R. Mitchell Attorney and AFCO. ... His previous series victory came last season at Merritt Speedway. ... Former truck puller Scott Phillips of Marlette, Mich., was eighth in a new MasterSbilt after destroying a car less than a month earlier. ... Drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Blaine Hendrick, Brad Buskirk, Chris Nash and Dan Vance. ... Mount Pleasant hosts the Sunoco American Late Model Series on Aug. 2. ... An originally scheduled July 13 event at I-96 Speedway in Lake Odessa, Mich., was cancelled; next up for the series is the July 19-20 Wood Tic 100 weekend at Merritt.

Michigan Dirt Cup @ Mount Pleasant: (1) Eric Spangler, (2) Rich Neiser, (3) J.T. Hotovy, (4) Brian Ruhlman, (5) Dona Marcoullier, (6) Brandon Thirlby, (7) Phil Ausra, (8) Scott Phillips, (9) Ryan VanderVeen, (10) Andy Galgoci, (11) Bill Bray, (12) Justin Robinson, (13) Chad White, (14) Bret Darling, (15) Keith Gentz, (16) Jim Fairbanks, (17) Renton Hurley, (18) Tom Sprague Jr., (19) James Neff, (20) Carl Ries. Heat race winners (among 24 cars): Phillips, Spangler, Sprague. Consolation winner: VanderVeen.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728