Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Batesville Motor Speedway

Sullivan ends season-long drought at Batesville

July 13, 2013, 5:17 am
From series reports
Jack Sullivan is joined in victory lane by his son Jace. (Woody Hampton)
Jack Sullivan is joined in victory lane by his son Jace. (Woody Hampton)

LOCUST GROVE, Ark. (July 12) — Jack Sullivan of Greenbrier, Ark., broke through for his first victory of the season Friday at Batesville Motor Speedway, leading all the way for a $2,000 payday on the Comp Cams Super Dirt Series.

Sullivan, whose last Last Model victory came in Comp Cams action last September at I-30 Speedway in Little Rock, Ark., got the jump on fellow front-row starter Wendell Wallace of Batesville and drove to victory in the caution-free affair. | Slideshow

Wallace settled for second while Justin Asplin of Birch Tree, Mo., was third. Kyle Beard of Trumann, Ark., was fourth and Jon Kirby of Russellville, Ark., rounded out the top five. Series points leader Ross Camponovo of Clarksdale, Miss., finished sixth in the first of two weekend races on the series.

Notes: Sullivan’s GRT Race Cars house car is sponsored by Triple A Diesel Service, Merrill Bonding, Bad Boy Mowers, Team Peterson, Sweet Mfg., and Keyser Mfg. ... The tour made its lone Batesville appearance of the season. ... Ashley Newman of Ripley, Tenn., had an 11th-to-sixth run to earn the Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger $100 bonus. ... Clay Fisher of De Witt, Ark., was awarded the Quarter Master Hard Luck Award when his engine expired in hot laps. ... Twenty-two drivers from five states were entered. ... Saturday’s series action moves to Northeast Arkansas Speedway in Harrisburg for a $2,500-to-win event, the opening round of the Stallion Transportation Group Summer Series. Gates open at 3 p.m. with the drivers' meeting at 6:30, hot laps at 7:15 and racing at 8; general admission is $20 ($15 for ages 13-18; $5 for 12-and-under). Pit passes are $30 ($15 for ages 6-12 and free for 5-and-under). For more info, visit neaspeedway.com

Comp Cams @ Batesville: (1) Jack Sullivan, (2) Wendell Wallace, (3) Justin Asplin, (4) Kyle Beard, (5) Jon Kirby, (6) Ross Camponovo, (7) Chandler Petty, (8) Stacy Taylor, (9) Shane Harris, (10) Brandon Smith, (11) Ashley Newman, (12) Tommy Surrett, (13) Jon Mitchell, (14) Robert Baker, (15) Tyler Erb, (16) Brian Ritchie, (17) Lynn Beach, (18) Austin Rettig, (19) Jeff Floyd, (20) Travis Ashley, (21) Kody Mea, (22) Clay Fisher. Heat race winners (among 22 cars): Asplin, Camponovo, Sullivan.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728