Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Clary's Motor Speedway

Erwin wins Monk Clay Memorial, earns $8,000

July 7, 2013, 12:28 pm
From track reports

BRINKLEYVILLE, N.C. (July 5) — Russell Erwin of Beaverdam, Va., earned $5,000 in purse money and $3,000 in lap money in dominating the inaugural Monk Clary Memorial, a race honoring the former driver and track owner at Clary’s Speedway.

Erwin took the checkers ahead of D.J. Tyndall of Dunn, N.C., and Ray Tucker of Greensboro, N.C., in the unsanctioned event for Limited Late Models. Daulton Wilson of Fayetteville, N.C., was fourth and John Staton of Chesapeake, Va., rounded out the top five finishers in a late night at the track.

Erwin’s $8,000 in earnings included $50-per-lap sponsorships posted by the track.

Notes: Erwin’s Corky Williams-owned MasterSbilt Race Car is powered by a Vic Hill Racing Engine and sponsored by Lease Wholesale, Erwin Racing Supply, Corky’s Auto Sales, The Muffler Place and Collins Signs. ... Erwin drives for the team that formerly fielded cars for Willie Milliken. ... Erwin has six victories this season at Clary’s. ... The night’s action ended at 2 a.m. with two more races yet to be run. ... The holiday weekend event drew nearly 100 race cars overall, including 35 Limited Late Models. ...

Monk Clary Memorial: (1) Russell Erwin, (2) D.J. Tyndall, (3) Ray Tucker, (4) Daulton Wilson, (5) John Staton, (6) Walker Arthur, (7) Joey Leavell, (8) Ronnie Boykin, (9) Davis Lipscombe, (10) Dustin Mitchell, (11) J.P. Cascell, (12) J.C. Clary, (13) Cy Nelms, (14) Tommy Wagner, (15) Damon Kotke, (16) Michael Batten, (17) Trevor Peoples, (18) Dean Bowen, (19) Darryl Hills, (20) Christian Joyner.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728