Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Plymouth Dirt Track

Simpson tops Corn Belt foes at Plymouth

July 7, 2013, 7:07 am
From series reports
Chad Simpson won in Plymouth, Wis. (Shawn Fredenberg)
Chad Simpson won in Plymouth, Wis. (Shawn Fredenberg)

PLYMOUTH, Wis. (July 6) — Reversing the finish from the previous night, three-time series Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, captured the final Corn Belt Clash race of a holiday tripleheader Saturday at Sheboygan County Fair Park. | Slideshow

Simpson took the checkers ahead of Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., Friday’s winner at Luxemburg Speedway, to earn $3,000 and his series-leading 23rd career Corn Belt Clash victory.

Russ Scheffler of Waukesha, Wis., started and finished third while Jason Utter of Columbus Junction, Iowa, and Brad Mueller of Random Lake, Wis., rounded out the top five.

A.J. Diemel of Navarino, Wis., Thursday’s series winner at Luxemburg, started fifth but was an early retiree at a scramble at Plymouth. He came back to win the Dash for Cash at the conclusion of Plymouth’s action.

Notes: Simpson’s MasterSbilt by Huey is powered by a Jay Dickens Racing Engine and with sponsorship from Liebe Trucking, GATR Truck Center, Farm Bureau Financial Services and Graves Oil. ... Simpson has three Corn Belt Clash victories this season; the previous two came at 34 Raceway in West Burlington, Iowa, and Quincy (Ill.) Raceway. ... Among rivers failing to make the feature lineup: Eric Michael, Jim Letizia, Tim Carman, David Thomas, Jason Enoch, Kyle Odekirk and Bret Sievert. ... The series returns to action July 10 with a $3,000-to-win event at I-35 Speedway in Mason City, Iowa.

Corn Belt Clash @ Sheboygan County: (1) Chad Simpson, (2) Jason Feger, (3) Russ Scheffler, (4) Jason Utter, (5) Brad Mueller, (6) Ricky Weiss, (7) Justin Hirt, (8) Tom Naeyaert, (9) Jim Schmidt, (10) Matt Furman, (11) Kyle Odekirk, (12) Bob Cullen, (13) T.J. Dolhun, (14) Tim Buhler, (15) Bill Rezutek, (16) Dave Eckrich, (17) Mike Fryer, (18) Justin Schmidt, (19) A.J. Diemel, (20) Doug Herrick. Heat race winners (among 28 cars): Simpson, Feger, Utter, Scheffler. Consolation winner: Fryer. Dash winner: Simpson. Dash for Cash winner: Diemel. Provisional starters: Eckrich, Herrick.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728